I promised you porridge…

Up until about 6 years ago, porridge = gruel (think Oliver!). Then I discovered Oatso Simple. I know, I know. It’s a heathen’s porridge, if, indeed, it counts as porridge at all, but it made me realise that porridge didn’t have to be the grey gloop I’d always believed it to be…

About 6 months ago I saw a nutritionist at work – it was one of those wellbeing week things where you got a brief 1:1 with someone who knew a bit about eating right.

A lot of stuff she told me to do I felt was a load of bollocks: I lift heavy weights to build muscle and gain strength, yet she told me to give up red meat (with all its wonderful creatine!) but told me that ham – that ridiculously salty, processed meat – was absolutely fine!

Please, if I have misunderstood, feel free to put me straight.

Anyway, I digress. One thing I did take away from that meeting was that Oatso Simple is not good for me and that I should use rolled oats and do it properly! (I knew this really; I was kidding myself. It just tasted oh so good!)

I couldn’t bear the thought of eating porridge made the proper way: I really don’t like the oats, water and salt thing… Also, I don’t have time to stand over a stove in the morning cooking it!

That’s when I decided to start having fun with my porridge, making myself interesting flavours so I could never, ever get bored of the oaty goodness. And I microwave it. Yes, I’m going to burn in porridge hell!

Now I’m obsessed. I’m not entirely sure if these “interesting” flavours are always healthy. But I try to make them as good for me as they taste.

So, the point of this rambling story? Well, I thought other people might like to try them out. Also, I wanted to spread the oaty love.

I promise I won’t post a day-by-day run down of what porridge I had. Honest. I’ll just let you know about the good ones. And the recipes. And maybe some of the really bad ones, so you can have a giggle at my expense.

2 comments

  1. Yup, I am a porridge evangalist too (and also am forced to use the microwave due to time restrictions in the morning). One of my favourite flavour combos is treacle and ginger – it tastes just like ginger bread!

    1. Oooh that sounds good. Anything ginger bread is heavenly to me. Think I might have to give it a go! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

