Today’s porridge: Figgy Pudding

While trawling the virtual supermarket shelves (it’s not a good idea for me to actually enter a supermarket as all I can see is red and I lose all sense of humanity!) for things to put in my porridge, I came across figs. Why not? I thought. I’m sure I can think of something to do with them.

It came to me while discussing Christmas with someone (they’d started their Christmas shopping already!!): figgy pudding. I thought it would be the perfect thing for chilly mornings (we’ve had a few this week) and anything that’s got cinnamon in it is a winner in my eyes.

So here you are: my figgy pudding flavour porridge.

Ingredients:

Figgy Pudding Porridge ingredients

All the things that go into it…

40g oats
10g milled seeds
30g figs
10g sultanas
5g walnuts
½ tsp mixed spice
200ml almond milk
50ml water
10g agave syrup

(415kcal)

Method:

The night before…

Combine all the ingredients, apart from the agave syrup, in a bowl. Cover and place in the fridge.

Combined ingredients

All the ingredients nicely stirred together

Next morning…

Give it a stir and pop it in the microwave for 2 minutes.

Soaked

Fresh from the fridge that morning

Stir again and nuke it for another 2 minutes.

Nuked porridge

Perfectly nuked porridge

Stir yet again and then pour on the agave syrup. Stir for a final time.

Add agave syrup

Porridge + agave syrup = sweet as hell, but oh so good!

Enjoy!!

Ready to eat

Ta-dah… Figgy Pudding porridge

Verdict:

Well it was gorgeous. Really, really yummy. It shall be added to my repertoire until I get bored of it!!!

Leave a Reply

