My plan to gain those buns of steel…

So I said on the Err, what?!page that some people have expressed an interest in my exercise regime. I don’t think it’s particularly special, but I like it.

Bear in mind that I am no expert. I don’t have any health and fitness qualifications. My schedule is based on experience and reading. I think it’s quite well-rounded, with enough variation to keep me interested, and it’s pretty intense (but I’m really looking forward to my next scheduled week off: it’s oh so soon…)

So this is my schedule.

Monday:

Strength training (rest c. 2mins between sets; c. 5mins between exercises):

  • deadlifts: 5 sets of 3-5 reps. Currently, my last set is at 80kg for 4.
  • pull ups: I can do 3 full pull ups without a rest. With 45secs in
  • between “sets”, I aim to do 15-20 (or until I can do no more)
  • bent rows: 4 sets of 5 reps at 40kg
  • lat pull downs: 4 set of 5 reps at 49kg

Circuits/Intervals:

Something from BodyRock.tv or an extended (20mins) “Tabata”-style circuit (i.e. 20secs high intensity work, 10secs rest for 4mins, 1min rest; repeated until completed 20mins)

Tuesday:

Cardio:

45-60mins spin routine – alternating between focus on sprints and hill climbs

Wednesday:

Strength training:

  • bench press: 5 sets of 3-5 reps – last set usually 37.5kg for 3
  • incline press: 4 sets of 5 reps at 25-32.5kg
  • chin ups/dips supersets: aim to do 3 sets of 5

Circuits/Intervals:

Something from BodyRock.tv or an extended (20mins) “Tabata”-style circuit; kettlebells

Thursday:

Cardio:

45-60mins spin routine – alternating between focus on sprints and hill climbs

Friday:

Strength training:

  • squats: 5 sets of 3-5 reps. Currently my final set is 70kg for 5 reps. (I know I can do more…I know I can…)
  • front squats: 4 sets of 5 reps at 40-50kg
  • split squats: 4 sets of 5 reps per leg at 50-55kg
  • leg press: the scary instrument of torture that I always feel is going to squish me…4 sets of 5 reps at +100kg
Jamie Eason leg press

The lovely Jamie Eason on said instrument of torture. (Photo “borrowed” from bodybuilding.com)

Saturday:

Strength training:

  • overhead press: 5 sets of 3-5 reps at 20-27.5kg
  • upright rows: 4 sets of 5 at 20-25kg
  • face pulls: 4 sets of 5 at 37.5-40kg

Cardio:

20min extended “Tabata”-style spin bike session

Sunday:

A well-earned day of rest.

And that’s it. What do you think?

2 comments

  1. Oops! Ignore my comment on your blog about looking forward to your rest week! I hadn’t read this far in to see that you’re already familiar with BodyRock! They’re awesome aren’t they?! 🙂
    Yours in Health and Fitness,
    Tracy

  2. Haha! Consider your other comment ignored 😉 Haha!

    Actually, I’m building up a binder of BodyRock workouts to take with me! I’m loving the older ones with Zuzana. They are good – some of them are killers!!! Any particular favourites?

    x

Leave a Reply

