Today’s Porridge: Chilli Chocolate

Chilli chocolate is something that I no longer find strange, yet I know some people still do. But people, this is not as strange as wasabi chocolate! I tried the Lindt one recently and unfortunately it’s not something I can un-taste 😦 And I like wasabi!! Needless to say, I shall be avoiding the wasabi KitKats in Tokyo…

wasabi chocolate

The nasal passage defeating wasabi chocolate. Yuck!

So, anyhoo, I digress.

It was a bit of a cold, dark, miserable day and the forecast for the morning was none too great so I thought I’d whip up a porridge to set me up for the autumnal day ahead. And thus, my chilli chocolate porridge was born:

Ingredients:

ingredients

40g oats
10g milled seeds
200ml chocolate soya milk
50ml water
1/2 tsp mixed spice
1/2 tsp chilli flakes (for the crunch, as well as the heat!)
1/2 tsp chilli paste (because surely, 1/2 tsp of chilli flakes isn’t enough chilli…)
10-15g maple syrup flavoured agave syrup

optional: 2g cocoa powder for extra chocolatey-ness

Method:

The night before…

Mix all the ingredients, apart from the agave syrup, in a bowl. Cover and place in the fridge. Just like every other “recipe” I’ve put on here 😉

Dry ingredients

The dry…

mixed with the wet

…mixed with the wet

Next morning…

Give it a stir and nuke it for 4 minutes, stirring half way through.

Once it goes ping the second time, stir, add the agave and  eat…

Chilli chocolate porridge

Chilli chocolate porridge. Doesn’t look very appetising, does it 😦 Really must work on my presentation skills if I’m going to force you to look at pictures like this!!

Verdict:

Bloody Nora! Too much chilli!! My nose was running and I temporarily lost the ability to taste anything. Next time, maybe just the chilli paste OR the chilli flakes?

Leave a Reply

