The first foray into… “Spin” routines

I’ve been following a few different indoor cycling routines that I’ve found online for a little while now and frankly I’m bored. Not because the routines are bad. Far from it: they’re quite varied. I’ve just been doing the same ones over and over; and some of them are 90 minutes long. I don’t want to be on a bike for 90 minutes!

While trying to decide which one do this week (i.e. the one I was bored with the least), I thought: Bugger it. I’ll write my own! I used to do spin classes at my old gym too so I’ve got a reasonable amount of experience of this kind of thing, so why not?!

I did my routine for the first time this evening. Fuck me! It hurt!! But it’s what I needed. There were lots of changes of pace and resistance that meant 45 minutes didn’t feel that long. Woohoo!!!!

I liked it so much that I thought I’d share. It needs a bit of tweaking, but I don’t think it’s that bad for a first try…

Save me from the monotony indoor cycling “routine”

5mins easy spin (low resistance)
5mins sprint for 30 seconds; recover for 30 seconds. 5 times
3mins very high resistance standing hill climb
2mins easy spin
30secs intervals: out of seat for count of 4; seated for count of 4; high speed; medium resistance
30secs intervals: out of seat for count of 2; seated for count of 2; high speed; medium resistance
2mins very high resistance seated hill climb
30secs sprint
30secs medium resistance standing hill climb
2mins easy spin
2mins very high resistance standing hill climb
2mins easy spin
30secs standing sprint
30secs seated sprints
2mins medium resistance seated hill climb
1min easy spin
6mins hill simulation: increase resistance every minute
5mins easy spin
5mins stretch

I was well and truly fucked by the time I climbed off the bike.

If you give this a try, let me know what you think. Once I get round to tweaking it, I’ll post the updates…

Leave a Reply

