5/3/1

Today I started the Jim Wendler 5/3/1 method of torture, I mean, strength training. My lifting really has stagnated, and I haven’t progressed as much as I though I would over the last 6 weeks since I got back from Japan.

My boyfriend’s just started this too and he told me to give the book a read. So yesterday I studied Wendler’s ideas and decided that actually, the man made a good case for his ideas, although I don’t agree with all of them.

5/3/1 Book Cover

 

What have I decided to do? Well, I’m not following any of the routines, like Boring But Big, that he sets out in the book, but I am following the second pattern of weight percentages (i.e. the higher ones) that he suggests for the four big lifts. I am going for strength in my assistance exercises too, limiting sets to 3-5 reps rather than heading into the realms of hypertrophy.

I’m also taking the opportunity to mix up my workouts a bit and not just use the barbell, as much as I love it. So kettlebells are making a welcome reappearance. Today’s workout made me realise just how out of practice I am with them!

The plan then…

Sunday – bench press; assistance: triceps dips, incline bench press, KB clean and press, KB windmill. To kill myself off at the end: as many burpees as possible in 2 minutes.

Monday – squat; assistant: pull ups, overhead squats, seated rows, KB single leg deadlifts. To kill myself off at the end: as many jump lunges as possible in 2 minutes and plank for 3 minutes.

Wednesday – overhead press; assistance: push ups (3 types), close grip bench press, 2 arm KB swing, KB snatch. To kill myself off at the end: as many mountain climbers as possible in 2 minutes and as many hanging knee raises as possible in 2 minutes.

Thursday – deadlift; assistance: chin ups, cable biceps and triceps superset, KB renegade row, KB goblet squat. To kill myself off at the end: as many jump squats as possible in 2 minutes and 3 minutes of wall handstand.

I feel knackered just typing it!!!

 

One comment

  1. Wow – sounds hardcore. My body is hurting just thinking about it! You’re a brave lass 🙂

Leave a Reply

