In pursuit of…the perfect protein pancakes!

I’ve spent a fair amount of time browsing the web looking for a good protein pancake recipe. There were some really delicious sounding ones out there, but typically I didn’t have all of the ingredients!

So I’ve taken some inspiration from a few of these recipes and created my own. And they were bloody gorgeous!!

Stack of pancakes

The Holy Grail?

Ingredients:

Pancakes

  • 20g coconut flour (not because I’m following some silly diet, but because I like the taste!)
  • 10g protein powder (I used chocolate flavour)
  • 10g flaxseed
  • 1/4tsp baking powder
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4tsp vanilla extract
  • 30ml skimmed milk

The numbers: 272kcal, 33g protein, 10g carbs, 9g fat

“Cream”

  • 70g fat free Greek yoghurt
  • 10g vanilla protein powder
  • strawberries
  • blueberries

Method:

  1. Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet ingredients in another bowl
  2. Add the wet ingredients a little at a time until the mixture is smooth
  3. Add a little coconut oil to a frying pan, and cook the pancakes as you would any other pancake!
  4. Meanwhile, mix the vanilla protein powder with the Greek yoghurt to make the vanilla “cream”
  5. Once your pancakes are done, stack them with the “cream” and fruit in between each layer
stack of pancakes

Check out my very mature plate! I’m sure you haven’t noticed it… 😉

Now I can’t claim that these are perfect but they were bloody lovely. Next time, I might add a bit more protein powder and milk to the mixture to give it a bit more depth.

Pancake stack part eaten

Aww…so pretty 🙂

If you try these, let me know how they go, especially if you make them even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

