Week 6: fucking shoulders!

I had to have most of this week off training because the tightness in my neck, shoulders and upper back was excruciating! I couldn’t turn my head properly. I couldn’t sleep. It felt like someone had performed the Vulcan Death Grip on me over and over. Basically, I felt like shit on a stick.

Spock death grip

Ladies and gentlemen, my glamorous assistant, Mr Spock!

So here you go, a blog post that involves bitching about my silly upper body!

Monday 6th – Thursday 9th January:

I did sweet FA strength training-wise on these days. I cycled to and from Putney on Monday and Tuesday (and took the train the rest of the way to and from work), but even that fucking hurt (and not being able to look over your right shoulder is a bit of a hazard!)

Needless to say, I was miserable until I had a 45 minute sports massage with Anita HarrisonΒ on Wednesday. It was the best Β£39 I’ve ever spent. True, it hurt like a motherfucker at the time, and Wednesday night wasn’t exactly pleasant, but I had the best night’s sleep on Thursday night. I decided that on Friday, I would lift heavy shit again! YAY!

Friday 10th January:

Lifting said heavy shit went a bit like this…

  • Squats (C3W2 5/3/1)
    • 36.5×5
    • 45.5×5
    • 55×3
    • 64×3
    • 73×3
    • 82×7 PR!!
  • Bench press (C3W2 5/3/1)
    • 20×5
    • 25×5
    • 30×3
    • 34×3
    • 39×3
    • 44×5
    • 50×1 (curiosity got the better of me…) PR!!
  • Deadlifts – working on my form.
    • 40×5
    • 45×5
    • 50×5
    • 60×5
    • 70×5
    • 80×5

I also had a bit of an epiphany and decided to stop counting calories. I wish it wasn’t such a major thing, but it is. Maybe I’ll bore you with the details in a blog post on another day. But for now I’ll just let you know that I celebrated this epiphany with my friends Ben and Jerry, peanut butter style!

Saturday 11th January:

Saturday morning means modified Strongman training at Rosslyn Park rugby ground. Ben decided to treat us to a speed and endurance relay type workout using farmer’s walks, a sandbag run, a reverse sled drag, a prowler push, using both the high and low handles, oh and my personal favourite, sprints. I hate running in all its forms. I appreciate sprints are beneficial, but I really can’t stand them. And 3 minutes of them as part of a relay team was exhausting!

I also managed to flip the 150kg tyre a few times. Not very quickly, but hey ho. And least the bastard moved!!

Clearly, I had to refuel…

cupcake

Afternoon snack – peanut butter cupcake πŸ™‚

ribs and pork

Dinner! Baby back ribs and pulled pork combo from Bodean’s

ice cream

Pudding: Vermonster Ben & Jerry’s. Yep. More ice cream…

There was even more food once I got home, and I went to bed with a tummy ache!!! Oops!

Sunday 12th January:

And to Sunday. I really need to start making progress on the axle clean and press. 3 reps isn’t going to get me many points at the comp, is it?! I did manage to do the comp weight crucifix hold though so that’s good.

  • Axle clean and press
    • 27×5
    • 32×5
    • 37×5
    • 39.5×3
    • 40.5×3 PR!
    • 37×5
    • 37×5
  • Axle clean (i.e. failed to press)
    • 39.5×2
    • 40.5×3
  • Log clean and press
    • 30×5, 5
    • 32.5×5
    • 35×2 PR!
  • Log clean – using the thick log. Never used this before.
    • 40kgx3
  • Crucifix
    • 6x29secs PR!
    • 6x19secs
  • Face pulls
    • 35×10
    • 40×9
    • 45×6

And of course, there was breakfast. I didn’t take a photo. You know what it looks like πŸ˜‰

Looking forward to getting back in the swing of things next week!

2 comments

  1. samanthaangela · · Reply

    Crushing PR’s left and right! Way to go girl!

    1. Why thank you very much πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

