6 weeks to go! Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck!!

This week saw me freak out a fair bit about the competition, which is now only 6 weeks away. After last Sunday’s mediocre pressing session and my deadlift form, which I’m not going to claim was ever perfect, totally abandoning me, for a few hours on Thursday I actually considered withdrawing from the comp.

I haven’t though. On 1st March, I will be there trying my hardest and all this training will have come good…

So here’s my week.

Monday 13th January 2014

It wasn’t exactly ideal to bench today, having only benched on Friday and this being week 3 of my current 531 cycle, but it was the only day I’d be able to fit it in. Wasn’t too shabby though. Deadlifts weren’t too bad, but I did drop the 90kg bar because the Fat Gripz came off. Think I may have to give up on them…

  • Bench press (C3W3 531)
    • 20kgx5
    • 25kgx5
    • 30kgx3
    • 36.5kgx5
    • 41.5kgx3
    • 46.5kgx4
  • Deadlifts (barbell and Fat Gripz…not good)
    • 40kgx5
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx4
    • 90kgx3
  • Pull ups
    • 5
    • 4
    • 4
  • Barbell Shrugs
    • 60kgx8
    • 65kgx8
    • 70kgx8
    • 75kgx8
  • 1-arm dumbbell rows
    • 20kgx10
    • 22.5kgx8
    • 25kgx6

Tuesday 14th January 2014

The weather has been so miserable lately, and cycling to Putney and then catching the train the rest of the way has been so unpleasant. Yesterday my waterproofs couldn’t cope with the rain and I couldn’t face getting on the bike this morning. So I decided to do a Tabata-style interval HIIT session on the spin bike, 4 minutes of 20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest, followed by 1 minute rest, completed 4 times (20 minutes in total). It’s been a while since I’ve done anything like this and I’d forgotten how bloody hard it is.

I had another sports massage this evening. My shoulders, neck and upper back haven’t been so bad since the first one, but this was definitely a good idea! This one was with David (Sports Massage Putney). Well worth the money: I finally feel like I’ve got a full range of motion in my neck! WOOHOO!!

Wednesday 15th January 2014

6.15am and I was back on the spin bike again for a HIIT session before work.

I also had another pressing session with Mike today to try to progress my axle clean and press. On Sunday, I’d only managed to get the 40kg bar above my head 2 or 3 times. This has been the case for the last few weeks. I was starting to despair. Having tweaked my technique (thank you Mike!!), I managed to get the bar above my head 7 times in 75 seconds. That would be 21 points on competition day! And that was after a set of 5 and a set of 6. I left the gym buzzing, despite practising the crucifix hold in the most torturous ways known to man…

Thursday 16th January 2014

After the successes of Wednesday came the failures of Thursday. My deadlifts were fucking awful and they’re now my obsession. Not even a squat PR could make me feel any better. We cut this workout short because I was really beating myself up.

  • Axle deadlifts
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx3, 1
    • 80kgx3, 1
  • Squats (C3W3 531)
    • 37.5kgx5
    • 45kgx5
    • 55kgx3
    • 70kgx5
    • 77.5kgx3
    • 87.5kgx3 PR!!
  • Walkouts
    • 90kg
    • 100kg
    • 110kg

I came home to these:

socks

My deadlifts may have sucked, but at least I’ve got some awesome socks to practise in! šŸ™‚

Friday 17th January 2014

Sweet, sweet rest day. Me and the lifting buddies met up after work for ribs at Sticky Fingers in Kensington. There was much merriment, chatter and food. The waitress couldn’t really believe that we were going to eat everything we ordered, but she clearly hasn’t had many dealings with many strongwomen competitors in training. I went to bed a bloated mess, but very, very happy.

food collage

The waitress didn’t really know what to say when we all ordered a full rack of ribs and sweet potato fries, and the 18oz sundae each…

Saturday 18th January 2014

Today was Super-girl training (modified Strongman training). I got there early to get a bit of practice in on the huge tyre that’s there. We still don’t know exactly how much the tyre weighs, but I’m pretty certain it’s more than 150kg (or is that wishful thinking?!?!).

While I was out, we had a massive delivery from Muscle Food.Ā Their steaks are so good, so obviously Saturday night had to be steak night. I just threw a salsa and a guacamole together and came up with this:

Another plate of food

Threw this together. It was yummy!

Sunday 19th January 2014

My shoulders found pressing too painful: there was this horrible pulling feeling across the front of my shoulders, down my triceps and even into my lats šŸ˜¦ I had to stop trying to press, and ended up doing a bit of a Bro workout.

  • Log clean and press
    • 30kgx5
    • 32.5kgx3
    • 35kgx3
    • 37.5kgx1 PR!!
  • Internal rotator cuff
    • 2kgx10, 10, 10
  • External rotator
    • 2kgx10, 10, 10
  • Dumbbell shrugs
    • 20kgx10, 10, 10
  • 2-arm dumbbell triceps extension
    • 10kgx10
    • 12.5kgx10, 10
  • Face pulls
    • 35kgx10
    • 40kgx10
    • 45kgx10

To round of (yet another) disappointing workout we had bad news about breakfast: our usual place was fully booked. This was devastating news. So we went to a place across the road. This was their idea of a full English, complete with a TABLESPOON of baked beans and cold poached eggs…

full english

Seriously disappointing breakfast šŸ˜¦

Ah well. Let’s hope this was just a bad week and that the next week will be awesome. We’ve got a really exciting training session lined up on Wednesday and I can’t wait! And deadlifts, you will be my bitch!!

One comment

  1. samanthaangela · · Reply

    Nice squat PR!!
    And I love those socks. The sheep ones are the sweet.

Leave a Reply

