HOLY FUCK IT’S ONLY 3 WEEKS AWAY!!

This week has been full of anxiety and self-doubt as the competition gets closer. I know I’m not going to win, but I’m desperate to not make a complete twat of myself! There are still a number of events I haven’t had the chance to train, and others feel like they’re going backwards 😦

Monday 3rd February 2014

No training with Mike this week, so Tara and I worked on our deadlifts 🙂

  • Axle deadlifts (sumo)
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx3
    • 90kgx3
    • 100kgx1
    • 110kgx1
  • Deficit deadlifts
    • 50kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5, 5
  • Barbell rows
    • 40kgx10, 10
    • 45kgx10, 10
  • Chin ups
    • 5, 3, 3
  • Alternating dumbbell curls (yeah bro!)
    • 7.5kgx8 (3 sets)

Tuesday 4th February 2014

Rest day. Nothing happened. I did nothing apart from go to work. Meh!

The boyfriend did buy me this t-shirt though! 🙂

t-shirt

I know the rules. I can say them almost as fast as Sheldon!!!!

Scissors cuts paper, paper covers rock, rock crushes lizard, lizard poisons Spock, Spock smashes scissors, scissors decapitate lizard, lizard eats paper, paper disproves Spock, Spock vaporises rock, and as always, rock crushes scissors…

Wednesday 5th February 2014

I asked Tara if she could help me get my diet back on track as I’ve been eating a load of crap recently and subsequently been feeling pretty shit. Today was day one of the new diet plan. Let’s see how this goes. I weighed in on Friday 31st January at 62.5kg. Let’s hope I can maintain that…

First dinner in line with my new diet plan. Yum!

First dinner in line with my new diet plan. Yum!

Today was also the most exciting day known to Man: I worked from home and had a new washing machine delivered. I know. You can’t cope with the excitement either, can you!! Amazingly, I came down from this high and managed to pull a workout out of the bag…

  • Bench press (531 C4W2)
    • 20.5kgx5
    • 25.5kgx5
    • 31kgx5
    • 36kgx3
    • 41kgx3
    • 46kgx5
  • Dips
    • 8, 7, 6
  • Close grip bench press
    • 20kgx10
    • 25kgx10
    • 30kgx8
    • 35kgx6
  • Barbell shrugs
    • 60kgx10
    • 70kgx10
    • 80kgx9
  • Crucifix (using kettlebells)
    • 60secs
    • 40secs

Thursday 6th February 2014

Despite the Tube Strike doom, I decided to head up to Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club with my training buddy again.

  • Rack pulls
    • 60kgx8
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx5
    • 95kgx4
    • 100kgx3
    • 110kgx1
    • 112.5kgx1
    • 111.25kgx1 (this was loaded incorrectly and should’ve been 115kg)
    • 115kgx1
  • Squats
    • 20kgx8
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx3
    • 75kgx3
    • 70kgx3
    • 77.5kgx3
    • 80kgx1
    • 60kgx3
  • Yates Rows
    • 40kgx12, 12, 12
  • Glute Ham raise (bodyweight)
    • 12, 12, 12
  • Side bends
    • 15kgx12, 12, 12

Dinner was this. A loose interpretation of the diet plan, but it was 8.30pm and I was still 90 minutes away from home, and training was tough… They’re my justifications and I’m sticking to them!!

me eating

Salt beef and mustard bagel

There was so much mustard it hurt my nose and made my eyes stream! It was a good look and proved just how manly I am 😉

Friday 7th February 2014

Rest day!! And today, I finally got to Wahaca.

Mexican food

Steak burrito, sweet potato and broccoli

I followed my diet plan to the letter until this meal… Oh well. Surely I was due a cheat meal, right?!?! 😉

dessert

“Marathon” sundae: peanut butter ice cream, chocolate cake base, peanuts, caramel, chocolate sauce…

Saturday 8th February 2014

Super-Girl Training was back with a vengeance today. 6 rounds of 5 exercises; 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off (while your partner had their turn!), 15 seconds to move to the next bit of kit:

  • Reverse sled drag: sled + 60kg (about 72kg)
  • Prowler push: no added weight, low handles only (about 30kg)
  • Tyre flip: started on the little one (about 80kg) then I moved onto the big one (apparently 165kg, but I think it’s more!)
  • Farmer’s Walk: 35kg per hand – decided to keep it light to focus on speed, not the I was particularly speedy… 😦
  • Prowler push: prowler + 40kg (about 70kg), high and low handles

I came home, stuffed my face with bacon, eggs and veggies (as per diet plan) and then watched England smash Scotland! YAY!

rugby team

The Quins-heavy England side that smashed Scotland. Happy days!

Sunday 9th February 2014

Today was not a normal Sunday! We were going to do an Atlas stones session, but had to wait for the gym to close. So we went for a roast instead of breakfast.

Roast dinner

Not my normal Sunday fare! But a happy change!

And what do you know…there was dessert!!

dessert

Cinnamon and chocolate pastry! Lush!

  • Axle clean and press
    • 27kgx5
    • 37kgx5
    • 40.5kgx5, 4, 4, 3
  • Rotator cuff stuff
    • 3 sets of 10 @ 2kg (external)
    • 3 sets of 10 @ 2kg (internal)
  • Face pulls
    • 40kgx10
    • 45kgx10
    • 50kgx6
  • Diamond push ups
    • 8, 6, 5
  • Atlas Stones – 53kg
    • The second comp I’m doing in March (London’s Strongest Novice) involves lifting an Atlas stone from the floor and onto my shoulder for reps. I need to do 45kg. The lightest stone Physical Culture have is meant to be 45kg, but is actually 53kg! This is the first time I’ve ever touched an Atlas stone and I managed to get it off the floor (eventually). Couldn’t quite get it on my shoulder, but I got it onto a shoulder height platform. Not too bad for a first session 🙂
Looking gorgeous as always!

Looking gorgeous as always!

  • Tyre flip
    • 130kgx7 – to get to the stones, a car had to be moved, which also meant I could get to the little tyre. I obviously had to have a go!! I ❤ Tyre Flips 🙂

And we got new t-shirts:

Posing!

Posing!

I’ve been home about an hour now. I haven’t been able to eat and the DOMS has started to set in. Tomorrow is meant to be deadlift day. That isn’t going to happen. I’m not sure if any training’s going to happen. 😦 Let’s see if I can actually get out of bed tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

