This time next week it’ll all be over!

This week my cold has stuck around and made me feel really fucking miserable! I’ve not been able to train as much as I’d like. Basically, I need a holiday!

There’s not really much to tell you about, except an immense events session with my trainer, Mike. Here’s a round up anyway…

Monday 17th February 2014

Exactly 4 weeks until my birthday! Yay!

I felt pretty shoddy all day but because the comp is so close, and because Tara was leaving on Tuesday, I dragged my sorry arse to the gym for a bit of a bro session.

  • Dumbbell shoulder press
    • 7.5kgx10
    • 10kgx8, 8
    • 12.5kgx5, 5, 5
  • Barbell push press
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx5
    • 35kgx5
    • 40kgx3, 3, 3
    • 20kgx10
  • Dumbbell bench press
    • 12.5kgx4, 9, 10
  • Lat raises
    • 5kgx10
    • 6kgx10
    • 7kgx10
    • 8kgx6

Followed by a goodbye GBK:

IMG_20140217_224039

Tuesday 18th February 2014

Rest. And feeling like shit. Let’s leave it there…

Wednesday 19th February 2014

I took a half day at work so I could play with heavy things outside while it was still light. It meant I’d have the opportunity to try the events for Britain’s Strongest Woman that I’d still not attempted.

In the hour and a half I had with Mike we covered:

  • 30kg keg runs (20m) and presses
  • tyre flips (yeah, I know I’ve done loads of these but I love them!)
  • Farmer’s walks (turns out it was closer to 70kg than 65kg. Not bad 🙂 ) and some deficit pick ups
  • rope pull (prowler + 90kg) for 20m

This was the best £60 I’ve spent on competition prep so far. Knowing that I can pull the prowler, despite it getting caught on the tarmac, and can run with and press a keg has done my confidence the world of good.

Mike took some cracking photos too! I look sexy as hell! Haha!

Oooooh!

on a mission!

on a mission!

Mike also had some lighter Atlas stones so I actually managed to get one from the floor to my shoulder. I reckon I’ll be able to do reps at my second comp on 16th March (have I mentioned that one yet?)

atlas stones

Thursday 20th February 2014

Another rest day and still feeling shit…

Friday 21st February 2014

I hadn’t had chance to deadlift or squat all week so thought I’d better squeeze a session in. Deadlifting was really hard but I figured it was just because I’d done a lot of lower back intensive stuff on Wednesday. Squatting was impossible however. Just squatting the 20kg bar was unpleasant, 40kg was painful and 60kg (yep, despite my body’s best protests I still went for it) had to be abandoned as a quarter squat was so excruciating I thought I might cry…

  • Deadlifts
    • 60kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 100kgx2, 1, 2
  • Barbell squats
    • 20kgx10
    • 40kgx5
    • 60kg for 1/4 TOO PAINFUL!

Saturday 22nd February 2014 (1 week until Britain’s Strongest Woman!)

I couldn’t go to SGT because I was worried about tweaking something in my back so I stayed at home, knitted and watched the rugby!

I did catch up with Ben to hand over these though:

dinosaur

monkey

Sunday 23rd February 2014

A bit of a half arsed workout because I’m tired and still full of cold. Still managed this though.

  • Push press
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx5, 5, 5, 5

Anna, Hannah and I headed over to Mike’s for a bit more events practice. I didn’t write down exactly what we did during this session though. There was some keg runs and presses, and some tyre flips. 

And then I scoffed this:

full English

Post-final-events-training-before-Britain’s-Strongest-Woman breakfast…

 

I’ve got 6 days to shift this cold and feel human again. I’ve tried conventional medicines, glutamine, echinachea etc… Anyone got any ideas?

And this time next week I’ll be posting about the comp. I can’t believe it’s actually come round! I am so scared!!! and 300g overweight!!

 

Leave a Reply

