It’s all over and I didn’t embarrass myself!

So here we are: comp week already! How did this happen?!

As I’m sure you can appreciate, I was fucking bricking it this week. Add to this the stress of weighing in, and I was a mess. So here we go: my pre-comp week!

Monday 24th February 2014

Today was a rest day. My body is really tired and the comp is only 5 days. I weighed in at 63.7kg this morning so I need to sort that out.

Apart from breakfast – porridge! – from Tuesday I vowed I wouldn’t have any “carbs” until Saturday. Plenty of green veggies of course, but no rice or pasta etc. 5 days isn’t that long, right?!?!

Tuesday 25th February 2014

Day 1 of low carbing it. I weighed in at 63.7kg again. I managed to not snack too much and, to stave off the hunger pangs on the 30 minute walk to work, I grabbed a black filter coffee at Waterloo station. Once I got to work, I had my porridge and then amazingly didn’t eat again until lunch. This is unheard of. Instead of tea and coffee, I had green tea. This is not the Emma-Lee my work colleagues know and tolerate 😉

Lunch was a load of green veggies and some salmon. Dinner was a chicken stir fry. Not too awful… I can do this.

I decided not to rest completely this week, and wanted to do some light work, so Tuesday’s workout consisted of:

  • Barbell floor to overhead
    • 20kgx10
    • 25kgx8
    • 30kgx5, 5, 5
  • Barbell bench press
    • 20kgx10
    • 25kgx8
    • 30kgx5, 5, 5
  • Barbell bent over row
    • 20kgx10
    • 25kgx8
    • 30kgx5, 5, 5

I then sat on the spinning bike for half an hour, keeping a steady pace, just to burn some extra calories so that weigh in on Saturday wouldn’t be a problem…

Wednesday 26th February 2014

Day 2 of low carbing. I weighed in at 63kg. Pretty good. I held off for breakfast until I got to work again. Lunch was left over stir fry from Tuesday and dinner was a 3 egg omelette and a load of green veggies. I had to have an afternoon snack – a Quest bar – as I was feeling really giddy. I’m not cut out for 1600kcal a day!

I resisted all the office sweet treats… It’s OK. I can eat anything I want on Saturday. Just 3 more days. That’s not long…

Despite feeling a bit giddy, I needed to do some exercise! Today’s light workout went like this:

  • Barbell squat
    • 20kgx10
    • 40kgx8
    • 50kgx5, 5, 5
  • Barbell deadlift
    • 50kgx10
    • 55kgx8
    • 60kgx5, 5, 5
  • 2-arm kettlebell swings
    • 12kgx15 reps x 3 sets

I sat on the spinning bike again, and prayed I was doing enough to weigh in at less than 63kg!!

Thursday 27th February 2014

I weighed myself again: 62.5kg. What I’m doing is clearly working!! Woohoo!

We had a big 2-day meeting at work this week and the amount of carbs that have been available has been ridiculous! I managed to resist though and amazed myself with willpower of steel! However, my roast beef  salad at lunch was much admired (and frankly I put M&S and their sandwiches to shame!). Dinner was another 3 egg omelette and veggies. It was getting a bit boring but I wasn’t hungry, so that was good!

I did sit on the spinning bike again but didn’t touch any weights. I also had to pack my kit bag. Of course, being the worrier that I am I’d already started thinking about it, but that didn’t stop me from fretting!

This shit was getting real!

Friday 28th February 2014

This morning’s weigh in: 61.9kg! YES! Let’s hope the scales at PTS are on the same wave length!!

Today was probably the most pointless day at work ever. I was all over the place and totally unproductive. Sorry to everyone at work who’s reading this!!! I’ll make up for it next week! Plus, I only found out at 12.30pm that the boyfriend was going to be able to get the day off work and would be able to come and support me! Thinking he might not be there scared the shit out of me!

I knew I was heading out for Nando’s after work before the train to Northampton so I needed to make sure I didn’t eat too much during the day. Breakfast was porridge at work again. I drank a load of coffee and green tea to try to suppress the appetite and tried my hardest not to think about food. I was definitely starting to feel like I wanted carbs, but still resisted the chocolate digestives…

Uncharacteristically, I failed to take a picture of my dinner. Clearly I was distracted by something…

Saturday 1st March 2014

Britain’s Strongest Woman 2014 at Progressive Training Systems, Northampton

After a shocking night’s sleep where I woke up to have a coughing fit at 2am and then at 6.30am unable to breathe, we made our way to Progressive Training Systems so Hannah and I could weigh in – and run around the industrial estate in a million layers if necessary to try and make weight.

I weighed in, after very few carbs all week, at 61.2kg. That’s a 2.5kg weight loss since Tuesday!! Once I’d congratulated myself on being able to resist the temptation of all the chocolate, biscuits and cake that had been floating around the office all week, I went and stuffed my face with as much sugar as I could manage and a revolting carb gel.

Before I knew it, it was 10am and I was lined up for my first deadlift…

Event 1: Max Axle Deadlift

Lift 1: 100kg

Lift 2: 110kg

Lift 3: 120kg

Lift 4: 132.5kg

After this event I was 5th with 8 points.

Event 2: 40kg Axle Floor to Overhead

After this event I was joint 5th with 15 points.

Event 3: Prowler + 80kg pull to push

After this event I was 6th with 19 points.

Event 4: 30kg Keg Run and Press

After this event I was 6th with 24 points.

Event 5: 150kg Tyre Flip to 65kg per hand Farmers Walks

After this event I was 7th with 28 points.

Event 6: 6kg Kettlebell Crucifix Hold

And then it was all over and I had come 6th with 36 points. Yes, 6th! Out of 12 competitors. SIXTH!!!

Look:

results table

The official results! Look! I’m there in the middle!! Woohoo!!

Of course, it was then time for photos. I’m so proud of my training buddies: Anna came 3rd in the Open Weights and Hannah came 3rd in the under 75kg category. They were both amazing. Anna pulled 180kg! She is unbelievable.

Team Physical Culture, Putney!!

Team Physical Culture, Putney!!

As well as my training buddies, this man, Mike Walsh, deserves a lot of thanks. He’s been really patient with me, put up with my constant worrying and over-analysing, and has offered so much invaluable advice. Thanks Mike!!!

Mike, our coach! A legend!! He deserves so much thanks!!!

Mike, our coach! A legend!! He deserves so much thanks!!!

And then it was home time. By the time I’d got to the train station I could feel everything starting to seize up. My lower back was hurting and I felt physically exhausted. We needed to eat at Euston again, so this time: burger, sweet potato fries and a peanut butter milkshake at Ed’s Diner:

A proper meal: cheese and pulled pork burger with sweet potato fries, coleslaw, onion rings and a peanut butter milkshake. Gluttony!

A proper meal: cheese and pulled pork burger with sweet potato fries, coleslaw, onion rings and a peanut butter milkshake. Gluttony!

We managed to get to Waterloo just in time for the fast train home. Once through the door I opened the Cadbury’s Mini Eggs that had been sat in my bag all day, curled up on the sofa with the boyfriend and watched the first two episodes of The Wire, season 2.

Sunday 2nd March 2014

Ten hours sleep and I’m amazed by how human I’m feeling this morning. I now don’t seem able to stop eating sugary stuff. Oops. Good job comp number two, in two weeks time, is an under 75kg event so I don’t need to worry about making weight!

I’ve missed having eggs rancheros, so I made my own and treated the boyfriend to an amazing breakfast. Can’t wait to have brekkie with my lovely training buddies again!!

Eggs rancheros home style!

Eggs rancheros home style!

And that’s it really. I’m going to spend the rest of the day lying on the sofa, watching shit TV and maybe doing a bit of knitting.

I suppose I’d better start thinking about my next comp soon. I’ve only got two weeks! Atlas stones in this one – and my first proper stones training session with Mike planned for Saturday! There are a few things I need to consider, particularly proper nutrition on the day (rather than just eating sugar and then crashing as you’re about to flip a tyre!) and my cardio fitness whilst carrying something heavy (I think I’m going to have to strap the weighted vest on and start doing sprints. Booo!!).

Now that I can look back on the competition, I know I had a really good time. And I can’t wait for the next one!!

2 comments

  1. […] Speaking of competitions, all four of my training buddies competed in Britain’s Strongest Woman this past Saturday! They all did awesome, as I knew they would. I was very sad to not be there with them (and jealous of the food they ate!), but I will hopefully be back in time for the next one. Emma-Lee wrote a recap on her blog so you should go read it! […]

  2. […] I would love to get 120kg (with good form – well, better than the Strongman form I used at Britain’s Strongest Woman) on the 26th, but I really struggle getting the fucking thing off the floor and I risk hurting […]

Leave a Reply

