Events training, Wonder Woman and no eggs rancheros!

This week, I am back into proper training, with the next competition only 5 weeks away: England’s Strong Women Championship London and Northern Counties Qualifier at New Spartan Gym in Watford on Saturday 26th April. The events are:

  • 100kg deadlift for reps (in 60 seconds?)
  • 35kg log floor to overhead for reps (in 60 seconds?)
  • 50kg (+ prowler) arm-over-arm pull and drag back
  • 50kg Farmer’s walk – 15m, drop and turn, 15m back
  • 20kg-40kg loading medley (4 objects)

I know I can lift the weights, I just need to work on my endurance and technique. And that’s what I’ve been focusing on this week. Here you are…channelling my inner Wonder Woman!

I am Wonder Woman! Haha!!

I am Wonder Woman! Haha!!

Monday 24th March

Deadlift day. I love deadlifts even though high reps make me want to vomit, which is what I’ve got to do at the comp. I had considered practising my max reps in 60 seconds at 90kg, but as I fatigue I start hitching. Not clever. I suppose I should’ve dropped the weight really. Oh well. Next week.

  • Deadlifts: only allowing myself to go up to 90kg this week!
    • 50kgx8
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx5, 5
  • Deficit deadlifts:
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx4
  • One-arm rows:
    • 20kgx10, 10, 10
  • Farmer’s pick ups:
    • 32.5kgx20secs
    • 42.5kgx20secs
    • 52.5kgx65secs
  • Chin ups:
    • 4, 4, 3 (disappointing 😦 )
burger

GBK bunless buffalo burger, corn on the cob and sweet potato fries. It was alright!

Tuesday 25th March

Rest day. Woohoo!

Wednesday 26th March

This is my least favourite day of the training week. I find bench press so boring. Didn’t stop me from doing a shit load of sets though! Plus cardio. Cardio sucks.

  •  Bench press:
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx8
    • 35kgx5
    • 40kgx5, 5, 5, 5, 5
  • Narrow grip decline bench press:
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx8
    • 35kgx5, 5, 5
  • Bicep curls (yeah bro!):
    • 10kgx 8, 5, 5
  • Diamond push up:
    • 5, 5, 5 (disappointing 😦 )
  • Anna’s Favourite Ab Exercise (10kg in hands, 5kg on shins):
    • 8, 5, 5
  • Bleep test (over 20m)
    • level 5.1 – better than last time, but pretty poor!
    • level 3.1 with 10kg weighted vest – LAME!!

Thursday 27th March

I feel like my squat is regressing. It might be because I haven’t been training squats specifically. I have got to start working on these. I’m never going to reach 100kg if I keep faffing around at 60kg!

  •  Squats:
    • 20kgx8, 8
    • 40kgx5
    • 50kgx5
    • 55kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 65kgx5
  • Box jumps (17″ box):
    • 5 sets of 10
  • Bulgarian Split Squats:
    • 3 sets of 8 with 8kg dumbbells
  • Barbell hip thrusts:
    • 45kgx15
    • 55kgx12
    • 65kgx10
  • Pull ups:
    • 3, 4, 3, 1 (really disappointing 😦 )

Friday 28th March

Rest day. I love rest day more than deadlifts!

Saturday 29th March

No Super-girl today, so Tara and I had an events session with Mike, which killed me!!

  • Farmer’s Walks
    • We worked up from 33kg to 53kg, running over 15m, dropping and turning, and then carrying them back. I had to work on my pick up as it was too slow. I think I’ve found a starting technique that works for me, so fingers crossed it works on the day. By the end of this (about 75 minutes!!) my hands were fucked!!
  • Arm-over-arm and drag back
    • My pulling technique sucks balls!I may have found a way of doing it, but I hate it!! Next comp must not have an arm-over-arm pull!! Dragging wasn’t too bad though. Little victories 🙂
  • Loading medley:
    • Carried 30kg Atlas stone, 30kg keg, 40kg sandbag, 40kg keg, 40kg Atlas stone about 10m and loaded them onto a platform that was about hip height. My best time was 1min 7secs. The sandbag let me down. I then spent about 15 minutes practising picking up the bloody thing.

By the time I had to cycle home, my lower back was pumping and I felt rubbish. I forced myself to eat once I got home and then slept for an hour. Moving has been interesting all day and I am broken!!!

Sunday 30th March

Pressing day! I feel awful: yesterday’s events session really has sent me over the edge. Getting out of bed was painful and slow. Still, no rest for the wicked, etc.

  •  Log floor to overhead:
    • 30kgx5, 5
    • 32.5kgx5, 5, 5
    • 32.5kgx10 (max reps in 60 seconds)
  • Barbell clean and press:
    • 30kgx5
    • 40kgx5, 5
  • Dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 7.5kgx10
    • 10kgx6, 8
  • Face pulls:
    • 45kgx8, 8, 8
A break from tradition: a Sunday breakfast that's not eggs rancheros! Instead, I had kippers and scrambled eggs :-)

A break from tradition: a Sunday breakfast that’s not eggs rancheros! Instead, I had kippers and scrambled eggs 🙂

Sadly, I need to lose weight again. This time, I’m not going to crash diet for a few days before a comp (because it’s not good for you, and I’ve put on more weight and now have more to lose!!). This time, I want to lose fat slowly and sensibly! I’m going to start posting my food diary alongside my training log. This is just so I can be held accountable and it might make me think twice about those chocolate hobnobs…

fad_diets_dont_work

 

Have a good week. Thanks for reading my ramblings 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

