Training as usual and a massive tattoo!

This week hasn’t been particularly exciting except I had my tattoo finished on Saturday and it is AWESOME!! Pictures and details of the excruciating pain come later.

chart

In other, less exciting, news, I managed to lose 700g (1.5lbs) by watching what I ate, but I still need to lose another 1.5-2kg (about 4lbs) before 26th April. I’ve added my food diary to this blog post (in pink boxes) and I have been brutally honest. There’s no point lying to myself about my inability to resist sweet things! I’m sorry if it makes this post incredibly dull (or should that be ‘even more dull’?)

Anyway, let’s get on.

Monday 31st March

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, 10g casein powder, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • tall Americano
  • Snack
    • 150g fat free Greek yoghurt with mixed berries and 1tbsp Nuts ‘n More cinnamon almond butter
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • leftover Mexican chicken stew (chipotle spiced, tomato based sauce with chicken, kidney beans, peppers, mushrooms, onion and garlic) and quinoa
    • Vitamin water
  • Snack
    • Options hot chocolate with a spoonful of instant coffee
    • MyProtein Protein Chox cappuccino flavour bar
  • Dinner
    • pasta bolognese with cheese
    • fat free frozen yoghurt with a few chocolate edamame
  • Before bed
    • Options hot chocolate

 

Tuesday 1st April

Training Log

I trained at home today. I used to love my home gym but I find it a bit claustrophobic when squatting and deadlifting now I train at a proper gym . Still, I did alright. And I’d obviously done something right if the DOMS this workout caused are anything to go by. Bulgarian split squats are the Devil’s exercise!

  • Barbell squats:
    • 20kgx10
    • 40kgx5
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5, 5
  • Pause squats (5 second pause):
    • 20kgx5
    • 40kgx5
    • 45kgx5
    • 50kgx5
  • Dumbbell Bulgarian split squat:
    • 10kgx6, 6, 8
  • Pull throughs (weight added to the stack – no idea of total):
    • +20kgx10
    • +30kgx8, 8
  • Pull ups:
    • 4, 4, 4
  • 10 minute HIIT (Tabata-style) spin bike sprints at 6am…*yawn*
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats, 1 egg white, 10g casein, 3 tsp chai tea powder, 200ml hazelnut milk, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny caramel macchiato with sugar-free vanilla syrup
    • green tea
  • Snack
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt with 1tbsp chocolate peanut butter and berries
    • tea with a splash of semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • leftover pasta bolognese with cheddar
    • salad leaves, tomatoes and cucumber, with cheese and balsamic dressing
    • Vitamin water
  • Snack
    • MyProtein Protein Chox Cookies and Cream bar
    • Little Miracles black tea drink
  • Dinner
    • 3 egg omelette with cottage cheese, ham, tomato, onion, mushroom and spinach
    • 2 slice soda bread with mashed avocado, broccoli and green beans
    • Skinny Cow mint choc chip ice cream
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs

 

Wednesday 2nd April

I honestly don’t know why I think getting up at 5.30am to sit on a spin bike is a good idea, but for the second day in a row, I’ve got my arse out of bed and done it! That’s why I need so much caffeine…honest!

Training Log
  • 10 minute HIIT (Tabata-style) spin bike sprints. At 6am.
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats, 15g raisins, 10g casein, 1 egg white, 200ml hazelnut milk, cinnamon, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • 25g whey protein shake with added coffee – need that kick in the arse!
  • Snack
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt with tbsp chocolate peanut butter and mixed berries
    • green tea
  • Lunch
    • 2 slices soda bread, mountain of ham, mashed avocado, tomatoes and spinach
    • raw carrots
    • Vitamin water
  • Snack
    • Little Miracles green tea drink
  • Dinner
    • Nando’s half chicken (mango and lime), corn on the cob (with a bit of butter…) and sweet potato mash
    • 2 diet cokes
  • Before bed
    • Options hot chocolate
    • BCAAs

 

Thursday 3rd April

Training at home again and done as quickly as possible.

Training Log
  • Bench press
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx5
    • 35kgx5
    • 40kgx5
    • 42.5kgx5, 5, 5
  • Narrow decline bench press
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx8
    • 35kgx6, 5
  • Dumbbell bicep curls
    • 10kgx8, 8, 8
  • Tricep dips
    • 8, 8, 8
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats, 15g raisins, 200ml hazelnut milk, 2 egg whites, 10g casein, mixed spice, honey, mixed nuts
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • Whey protein shake
  • Snack
    • 2 cups of tea
  • Lunch
    • 3 eggs with paprika, chicken, broccoli
    • raw carrots
  • Snack
    • Little Miracles green tea drink
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, mixed berries, tbsp chocolate peanut butter
  • Dinner
    • 200g baked beans on buttered soda bread toast
  • Before bed
    • Options Indulgence hot chocolate
    • BCAAs

 

Friday 4th April

I’ve never been to Physical Culture on a Friday night before, but what better way to spend a Friday night than deadlifting?!

90kg came off the floor fairly easily, but I really wasn’t happy with my 95kg sets. Ah well. From a deficit next week to work on this.

Training Log
  • Barbell deadlifts
    • 60kgx8
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx5
    • 95kgx5, 5
  • 1-arm dumbbell rows
    • 20kgx10, 10, 10
  • Chin ups
    • 5
    • 3 very slow
    • 1 very slow and held at the top
    • 1 very slow and held at the top
  • Glute-ham raises
    • 5, 6, 5
  • Standing abs
    • #3 (it said 50 next to it…I can’t imagine it’s 50kg. Maybe 50lbs?) x10
    • #4 (it said 60…) x8
    • #3×10
  • Planks
    • 3 planks held for about 20secs each but Anna stuck a 20kg weight plate on my back for the first one and pushed down on my back for the last two. Lovely!

Of course, after all that, you’ve got to refuel. What better way than with a GBK?

Buffalo burger with bacon and avocado, coleslaw, corn on the cob with butter, sweet potato fries and relish! Yum!

Buffalo burger with bacon and avocado, coleslaw, corn on the cob with butter, sweet potato fries and relish! Yum!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40kg steel cut oats, 15g raisins, 200ml hazelnut milk, 10g casein, whole egg, egg white, mixed seeds, honey
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny white americano
  • Snack
    • 2 cups of tea
  • Lunch
    • chicken and broccoli
    • raw carrots
    • Little Miracles black tea drink
  • Snack
    • Options hot chocolate with a spoonful of coffee
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, tbsp chocolate peanut butter, mixed berries
  • Dinner
    • GBK buffalo burger with bacon and avocado, coleslaw, corn on the cob and sweet potato fries and relish
    • Skinny Cow mint choc chip ice cream
    • chocolate edamame
  • Snack
    • BCAAs

 

Saturday 5th April

Tattoo day! I was incredibly excited about getting it finished, but also petrified of the pain. The last session was 2 hours and completely bearable. Rather optimistically, as it turned out, I thought it would be done in another 2 hours. How wrong I was.

So this is what it looked like before I got there:

half finished tattoo

The tattoo after 2 and a half hours’ work.

All I had to do, before I could get it finished, was go to Super-Girl training. Easy, right?

Training Log

OK this killed me. I don’t know whether there’s still a bit of the cough/cold lingering, making me want to cough my guts up or whether it’s the lack of cycling that means I am well out of shape! The last time I did this I didn’t eat much beforehand and ended up feeling really unwell for the whole day. This time, I ate a rather large bowl of porridge. It almost made an appearance during the final medley…

  • Super-Girl Training – 3 times through this (30 seconds work on each station – no rest between stations)
    • sprints
    • 80kg tyre flip
    • 25kg farmer’s walks
    • 30kg duck walk
    • prowler
    • sled drag
    • objects to shoulder
    • bear walk
  • Cycling to and from Rosslyn park – about 5 miles each way

A quick turnaround when I got home and I was on my way to Covent Garden to see Jairo for the latest round of torture.

2 hours in…the grey and blue characters and the trees were “done”…still so far from finished

Another hour…how haven’t we finished yet?!?!

Back in the seat. Excruciating pain…

Last 10 minutes…and I’m about to lose it…

Finally, we’re finished…and it is FUCKING AMAZING!

tattoo

Well worth the 6 and a half hours of pain!

tattoo collage

Jairo also customised my free tote bag. Bless him. It was so sweet! I felt like I let him down a bit by being a bit all over the place during the last hour. Sorry Jairo! 😦

My tote bag as customised by Jairo. <3

My tote bag as customised by Jairo. ❤

Food Diary

There’s a lot of sugary stuff because I needed to keep my sugar levels up, although it didn’t stop me from feeling like I was going to pass out.

  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats, 15g raisins, whole egg, egg white, cinnamon, cinnamon and raisin almond butter, agave
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
  • Lunch
    • 200g baked beans with 2 slices of buttered soda bread toast
    • cup of tea
    • MyProtein chocolate cookie
  • Snack
    • skinny iced caramel macchiato
    • Nakd cocoa orange bar (at first break)
    • Rowntree’s Randoms (at second break and after…)
    • skinny latte (at first break)
    • Snog chocolate frozen yoghurt with strawberries (post-tattoo treat)
    • Vitamin water
  • Dinner
    • M&S Spanish pork ready meal (because I was so exhausted!)
    • 100g Cadbury’s Mini Eggs. Oops…
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs

 

Sunday 6th April

I’d had every intention of going to the gym this morning to do my normal pressing session, but my arm is so swollen that it wasn’t going to happen. So I’ve had a lazy day 🙂

Well, apart from some HIIT, obviously…

Training Log
  • 10 minute HIIT (Tabata-style) spin bike sprints.
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt with strawberries, tbsp peanut butter and Rude Health granola
    • tea with skimmed milk
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
  • Lunch
    • 3 egg omelette with cottage cheese, onion, tomatoes, broccoli and spinach
    • 2 slices of wholemeal toast with mashed avocado
  • Snack
    • tea with skimmed milk
    • protein cookie
  • Dinner
    • chicken and vegetable pasta with a little cheddar
    • frozen yoghurt with Walden Farms chocolate syrup
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Maltesers hot chocolate made with 100ml milk and 100ml water

So it’s not long until the next comp. There are 8 of us in the U63kg class. Let’s hope I actually weigh in at U63kg!!

Have a good week everyone!

2 comments

  1. samanthaangela · · Reply

    That tattoo is awesome!

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I think so too!!

Leave a Reply

