2 weeks until comp 3: when will the panic set in?

How many more posts are going to start “well, it’s not been a particularly exciting week”? Well, this is another one! Sorry!! There’s only two weeks until the next comp, but I really don’t feel like it’s actually happening. I’m training for it really hard, but I don’t feel that blind panic that I did for the first two. And it’s not because I don’t care. Oh well, I’m sure I’ll start worrying soon.

Making weight is worrying me though. I only lost 300g this week, taking me to 63.7kg. You’ll see why if you read my food diary…

Only 300g this week :-( I'm sure my food diary tells all!

Only 300g this week 😦 I’m sure my food diary tells all!

I’m going to up the cardio next week. Definitely need to work on my loaded runs – my hamstrings detest them so much. Ah well. Here’s this week 🙂

Monday 7th April

I’m going through a real graphic novel phase at the moment. I’m finally reading getting around to reading The Sandman series and I’ve just finished The Watchmen which has been sat on my bookshelf for years.

My tattooist, Jairo, recommended 100 Bullets, which is his favourite. So I grabbed myself a copy from Forbidden Planet, and curled up in bed with a hot chocolate and gave it a go.

My latest graphic novel/comic book love: 100 Bullets, as recommended by Jairo

My latest graphic novel/comic book love: 100 Bullets, as recommended by Jairo

So far, I love it! If anyone’s got any other recommendations, please let me know!

Enough about that geekery. Here’s the training geekery:

Training Log
  • Squats:
    • 20kgx10, 10
    • 40kgx5
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 75kgx3
  • Box jumps:
    • 17″x15, 15, 20
  • Bulgarian split squats:
    • 8kgx10, 10, 10
  • Hip thrusts:
    • 32kgx10
    • 52kgx10
    • 72kgx10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • green tea
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, tbsp chocolate peanut butter, berries
  • Lunch
    • 120g salmon, 80g Seeds of Change 7 whole grains, tomatoes, broccoli, green beans, spinach
  • Snack
    • cup of tea
  • Dinner
    • chicken and vegetable pasta with cheese
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs

 

Tuesday 8th April

DOMS galore this morning, particularly in my hip flexors. Bulgarian split squats are evil! I think I’m going to have to start doing yoga again to work on my hip flexibility because I’m in agony. Still, didn’t stop me from donning the trail shoes and doing sprints after work.

Training Log
  • Sprints:
    • 4x single 20m lengths (walk back)
    • 1x two 20m lengths
    • 2x four 20m lengths
    • 1x two 20m lengths
    • 4x single 20m lengths (walk back)
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, tbsp raisin and cinnamon almond butter, 1 whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • cup of tea
    • Options hot chocolate with a spoonful of coffee
  • Lunch
    • 120g salmon, 80g Seeds of Change 7 whole grains, tomatoes, broccoli, green beans, spinach
  • Snack
    • green tea
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 15g chocolate whey, berries
    • peach and mango Vitacoco
  • Dinner
    • chicken and vegetable curry with 120g Seeds of Change 7 whole grains
    • 120g coconut Yog frozen yoghurt
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Options hot chocolate

 

Wednesday 9th April

Bench press day has been sacrificed for overhead pressing as I wasn’t able to press last Sunday. This week, I’m lifting comp weight. This scares me…

There was meant to be post-training GBK but it was rammed. We ended up in Byron. My dinner was shit 😦 The driest, thinnest bit of chicken, chewy bacon, unripe avocado and salad swimming in vile dressing. The salad went back! I had serious food envy.

Byron chicken "burger". Soooo disappointing!

Byron chicken “burger”. Soooo disappointing! Look at the amount of dressing on that salad 😦

Training Log
  • Log clean and press:
    • 30kgx5, 5
    • 32.5kgx5, 5
    • 35kgx5, 5
    • 35kgx7 (max reps in 60secs)
    • 30kgx11 (max reps in 60secs)
  • Push press:
    • 20kgx10
    • 30kgx5
    • 35kgx5, 4, 3
  • Dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 10kgx7, 5, 6
  • Dips:
    • 8, 6, 5
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • green tea
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • 120g salmon, 80g Seeds of Change 7 whole grains, tomatoes, broccoli, green beans, spinach
  • Snack
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 15g chocolate whey, berries
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Dinner
    • Byron chicken (no bun), bacon and avocado, with a fuck load of salad
    • diet coke
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Options hot chocolate

 

Thursday 10th April

Today was just deadlift day. One day, 100kg will feel easy. Yes it will. Until that day, I guess I’ll be struggling on through.

Training Log
  • Deadlifts:
    • 50kgx5
    • 60kgx5
    • 70kgx5
    • 80kgx5
    • 90kgx5
    • 100kgx4, 5
  • 1-arm rows:
    • 20kgx10
    • 22.5kgx10, 10
  • Chin ups:
    • 4, 3
    • 3 negatives
  • GHR:
    • 8, 8, 8
  • Barbell bent over rows:
    • 50kgx5, 8, 5, 5
    • 55kgx5
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, whole egg, 1 egg white, peanut hot drink powder stuff
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • Wagamama grilled fish ramen
    • 1/4 portion garlic and chilli edamame
  • Snack
    • Vitamin water
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 15g chocolate whey, berries
    • Little Miracles green tea drink
    • pineapple Vitacoco
  • Dinner
    • 3 egg omelette with cottage cheese, onion, ham, spinach, broccoli, tomatoes, mushrooms
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Options hot chocolate

 

Friday 11th April

Weighed in at 63.7kg. Gutted. I know I haven’t exactly eaten clean this week, but my portion sizes have been significantly smaller and I hoped this would work. ARGH! No lattes for me on the way to work anymore 😦 Which is a shame as I woke up feeling like I hadn’t slept in a thousand years. 5pm couldn’t come quick enough!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • cup of coffee (instant)
  • Lunch
    • chicken and vegetable curry (no carbs 😦 )
    • raspberries and strawberries
  • Snack
    • liquorice tea
    • hot chocolate
    • apple
  • Dinner
    • Fuller for Longer chicken in red wine sauce (couldn’t be arsed!)
    • coconut Yog frozen yoghurt with Walden Farms chocolate sauce
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Options hot chocolate
    • chocolate covered rice cakes

 

Saturday 12th April

Last night, I went to bed at 8.30pm! Yep. I was that exhausted. I was watching my beloved Harlequins smash Sale on TV, but by half time, I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. Bed. No reading. No faffing on Facebook or Instagram. Just sleep…

Not even the Mighty Quins could keep me awake on Friday night.

Not even the Mighty Quins being amazing could keep me awake on Friday night.

It still took my alarm to wake me up at 8am this morning so I could have a substantial breakfast before events training with Mike. And that was a killer, especially as I cycled there and back!

Training Log
  • Prowler pull and drag
    • approx. 20m each way
    • 60kg-75kg (including prowler) on an uneven tarmac surface
    • Best time at 75kg was about 38secs
  • Farmer’s walk:
    • approx. 20m each way
    • 43kg-63kg
    • Comp weight is 50kg each hand – best time at 53kg was 22secs (with a drop and turn)
  • Loading medley #1:
    • 5 objects loaded onto platform after 15m run
    • 30kg and 40kg Atlas stone, 40kg sandbag, 30kg and 40kg keg
    • Best time 1min 8secs – my hamstrings kept seizing up during the 40kg keg 😦
  • Loading medley#2:
    • 30kg, 40kg, 50kg Atlas stones, 40kg sandbag, 30kg and 40kg keg
    • Loaded onto a 4ft platform
    • Attempted the 60kg Atlas stone but only managed to get it onto my lap once. Got some lovely Atlas stone rash though 🙂
More Atlas rash. I've missed this so...

More Atlas stone rash. I’ve missed this so…

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, tbsp peanut butter, whole egg, agave
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • cup of tea
  • Snack
    • 2 cups of tea
    • white chocolate and macadamia Clif bar
    • 150g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 15g chocolate whey, berries
    • instant chai latte
  • Dinner
    • beef noodle stir fry
    • pineapple Vitacoco
    • coconut Yog frozen yoghurt with Walden Farms chocolate sauce
    • 50g Cadbury’s Mini Eggs…
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
    • Options hot chocolate
    • MyProtein Protein Chox cookies and cream
    • 2 rice cakes with Lotus biscuit spread…Oh. Dear.

 

Sunday 13th April

I’ve certainly felt worse the day after a training session with Mike, but if today’s training session is anything to go by, it clearly took its toll on me. The log felt indescribably heavy, even without any weight on it; cleaning the thing was revolting and I did not enjoy it in the slightest. My hamstrings had protested a lot during yesterday’s session, and they were pretty vocal again today.

Here’s today’s shit session in full. EUGH!

Training Log
  • Log clean and press:
    • 30kgx5, 5
    • 32.5kgx5, 5
    • 35kgx3, 3
    • 35kgx4 (max reps in 60 seconds. FAIL!) 😦
  • Barbell push press (with bands):
    • 20kgx10 (no bands)
    • 20kgx5
    • 25kgx5
    • 27.5kgx5, 4
  • Tricep push downs:
    • 25kgx10, 10, 10
    • 20kgx10
  • Face pulls:
    • 40kgx15, 15, 15
  • External and internal shoulder rotation (superset):
    • 2kgx15, 15, 15

Then it was off to breakfast, where I broke from tradition for the second week running and had poached eggs, bacon and toast. Not exactly thrilling…

No rancheros for me again today! 2 poached eggs, bacon and toast. Not the best breakfast I've ever had, sadly :-(

No rancheros for me again today! 2 poached eggs, bacon and toast. Not the best breakfast I’ve ever had, sadly 😦

On the way home from training, I stopped off in Waitrose and they had something called pineberries which looked interesting so I bought a pack. Apparently they’re strawberries that taste like pineapple. I must admit, I didn’t get pineapple from them.

Pineberries: strawberries that taste like pineapple. Apparently...

Pineberries: strawberries that taste like pineapple. Apparently…

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • BCAAs, glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • Trek oat and peanut bar
  • Lunch
    • 2 poached eggs, bacon, toast
    • skinny iced latte
    • drumstick lolly…
  • Snack
    • Snog berry blue acai burst frozen yoghurt
    • 100g pineberries
    • cashew and pecan Bounce ball
    • dandelion, ginger and fennel tea
    • pineapple flavour coconut water
    • Options hot chocolate with a spoonful of instant coffee
  • Dinner
    • some sort of chipotle spiced chicken stew with sweet potato, peppers and mushrooms; with homemade guacamole, cheddar cheese, cottage cheese and about 1/4 packet Food Doctor chipotle soya thins
    • 12 Cadbury’s Mini Eggs
  • Before bed
    • BCAAs
Unicorn wanted in on the froyo goodness

Unicorn wanted in on the froyo goodness

And that’s it. If you’ve read all the way through, then thank you as always. I really appreciate it. One day I might actually have something relevant to say, but until then I’ll keep up the ramblings.

Until next Sunday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

