Competition 3 disappointment and other whining…

So here we are! Competition week, and as you can imagine, it’s been full of stress, worry and nervousness. Much of the stress I’ve felt has been about my weight. After last week’s success, my weight has really fluctuated, which has caused me to become even more irrational and obsessive!

Christian Bale

Some have likened my battle to that of “Machinist” vs “Batman” Christian Bale in reverse.*
*That’s a lie. No one has made that comparison. It just fucking feels like it!!
P.S. I’m a drama queen. Have you got that?!

So, be prepared for me to whinge and whine about life without a proper sized meal or chocolate…

Monday 21st April

I weighed myself this morning: 62.5kg. Not too bad. Still plenty of time to give myself a bit of wiggle room for Saturday.

The Boyfriend and I actually had a day off together! Woohoo! So, off we went to the cinema to watch Captain America: The Winter Soldier. I bloody love comic book movies. Captain America isn’t one of my favourites, but then neither is Spiderman, which was the other choice (plus I still haven’t seen the first Andrew Garfield Amazing Spiderman movie…). So the film wasn’t ground breaking or anything remotely special, but it was fun, with plenty of fights and explosions! BOOM!

We ended up in the Urban Diner again – oops – where I chose the ‘healthiest’ thing on the menu: blackened seabass with prawn jambalaya.

Blackened seabass and prawn jambalaya - probably shouldn't have eaten all the rice...

Blackened seabass and prawn jambalaya – probably shouldn’t have eaten all the rice…

Training Log
  • Spin bike intervals – first thing in the morning (fasted):
    • 5 minute warm up
    • 20x 30 second sprint intervals @ 32mph
    • 20x 30 second “rest” intervals @ 12mph
    • 5 minutes of stretching
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g Rude Health honey nut granola, 100g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 10g vanilla whey powder, blueberries
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • Assam tea with skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • dandelion, fennel and ginger tea
  • Lunch
    • 2 slices rye bread with ham, cottage cheese, salad leaves, tomatoes and onion chutney
    • pear
  • Snack
    • Pepsi Max
  • Dinner
    • berry smoothie
    • blackened seabass with prawn jambalaya
    • fat-free salted caramel frozen yoghurt
  • Before bed
    • liquorice and cinnamon tea

 

Tuesday 22nd April

I weighed in at 62.8kg this morning (see, obsessed! NOT HEALTHY!!!) Yes, I know I had all that rice and some frozen yoghurt yesterday. Idiot!

So the biggest challenge I was facing today was living without my morning and afternoon snacks. To be honest, I’ve only been having them recently because it’s a habit. I’m not actually hungry.

Tonight’s training shouldn’t have been too taxing – I needed to do cardio for sure – but I got a bit carried away with the squats and ended up doing 5 sets at 50kg. OK that’s not ridiculously heavy, but probably too heavy for the week before a competition! Double idiot!!

Training Log
  • Sprints:
    • 2 x single (20m) lengths (jog back)
    • 2x 20m sprints (40m total)
    • 4x 20m sprints (80m total)
    • 4x 20m sprints (80m total)
    • 6x 20m sprints (120m total)
    • 6x 20m sprints (120m total)
    • 6x 20m sprints (120m total)
    • 3x 20m sprints (60m total)
  • Walk to and from work: 1.5 miles each way; takes about 30 minutes
  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 5 sets of 5 at 30kg
  • Squats
    • 20kg x 10
    • 5 sets of 5 at 50kg (what possessed me to go this heavy, I don’t fucking know!)
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • green tea
  • Lunch
    • chicken with broccoli, green beans, spinach and tomatoes
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
    • berries
  • Snack
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
  • Dinner
    • Mexican chicken stew with sweet potato wedges
  • Before bed
    • cinnamon and liquorice tea
    • 1 square dark chocolate

 

Wednesday 23rd April

Weight obsession: 62.4kg this morning. That’s better. Still some work to do though, just in case their scales are wildly different from mine!

Training Log
  • Spin bike intervals at 5.45am (fasted):
    • 5 minute warm up
    • 20x 30 second sprint intervals @ 32mph
    • 20x 30 second “rest” intervals @ 12mph
    • 5 minutes of stretching
  • Walk to and from work: 1.5 miles each way; takes about 30 minutes
  • 1 hour on the spin bike at a steady 14.7mph
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds, bran flakes
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny latte
    • strawberry crunch Nakd bar (I was feeling so giddy after my intervals!)
  • Snack
    • pomegranate green tea
  • Lunch
    • Mexican chicken stew with sweet potato wedges
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
  • Dinner
    • steak with broccoli, green beans and asparagus
    • berries, 100g 0% fat Greek yoghurt

 

Thursday 24th April

Weight obsession: 62.5kg this morning.

Other than doing the walk to and from work, I couldn’t face any form of exercise today. I felt exhausted. All my meals have been small and fairly low carb (apart from breakfast) and I’ve done more cardio this week than I have in a long time. I felt weak and tired, and so came home and crashed.

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds, bran flake, prunes
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • green tea
  • Lunch
    • 1 slice rye bread, cottage cheese, ham, spinach, tomatoes, garlic chutney
    • dandelion tea
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Dinner
    • beef stir fry
    • 100g 0% fat Greek yoghurt, 10g protein powder, berries, 5g grated dark chocolate

 

Friday 25th April

Weighed in this morning at 63.2kg. For fuck’s sake!!! Should’ve done my cardio yesterday! Of course, that means I’m going to have to make up for it today! Awesomeness… 😦

Training Log
  • Spin bike intervals at 5.45am (fasted and wearing a hoodie with the hood up):
    • 5 minute warm up
    • 20x 30 second sprint intervals @ 32mph
    • 20x 30 second “rest” intervals @ 12mph
    • 5 minutes of stretching
  • Walk to and from work: 1.5 miles each way; takes about 30 minutes
  • 1 hour on the spin bike at a steady 18.8mph, wearing long cycling trousers and a sweatshirt (with the hood up), and with the heating on full. Lost a kilo in water weight!!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds, bran flakes, prunes
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny latte
  • Snack
    • dandelion tea
    • builder’s brew with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • Itsu smoked chicken low carb
  • Snack
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
    • Nakd chocolate crunch (I felt quite giddy and ill!!)
  • Dinner
    • M&S Fuller for Longer Cod Rogan Balti
    • berries and protein powder
  • Before bed
    • Options hot chocolate

 

Saturday 26th April

England’s Strong Women Championship, London and Northern Counties Qualifier
Tara and I after the comp. I'm so proud of her for qualifying!

Tara and I after the comp. I’m so proud of her for qualifying!

I woke up ridiculously early feeling incredibly sick with nerves. Not only was I worried about weighing in, but I really wanted to qualify for the finals and knew I’d have to be at my best if I wanted to do that.

Of course, being totally carb depleted and dehydrated, I was never going to be 100%.

But I’m not going to use that as an excuse for not doing as well as I’d hoped.

The U63kg weight category in Strongwoman is probably the most competitive category. There were 8 of us at this comp (compared to 3 in the U75kg and 4 in the Open weights), and I know that at the Southern qualifier last week, there were more in the U63kg category than in the other two put together. And all of them are fucking strong!!

I came 5th with 20 points. There were 7 points between me and 4th place. Being carb depleted and dehydrated meant nothing: those girls who qualified for the final (1st-4th) were just better than me. And that sucks 😦 For some of them, it was their first comp. And that sucks even more!

I keep telling myself that I’m still new to this, that I’ve never been particularly sporty, and that this is so wildly different to anything I’ve ever done, but it doesn’t seem to help… I don’t like feeling I’m not good at something, especially when it’s something I love!

I really should just accept that, with all these amazing women in my weight category, winning a competition is going to be nigh-on impossible and I should just enjoy the experience! It’s fun.

But who am I kidding? I want to be really good at this!

Oh, and weigh in? 61.5kg on my home scales. 60.5kg on theirs. I think theirs might be a bit out… And no food diary today. It would be embarrassing! Haha!

OK, I’ll stop whining like a bitch and let you see for yourself!

Log press:

35kg log. 8 reps.

Deadlift:

100kg. 13 reps. Lots of hitching!

Arm-over-arm and drag back:

Prowler + 50kg pulled for 15m and then dragged back

Farmer’s walk:

50kg per hand. 15m, drop and turn, 15m back. And I fall over and hurt myself!

Loading medley:

20kg, 30kg and 40kg sandbags carried over 15m and loaded over a 4ft yoke

Sunday 27th April

REST!! This is the worst I’ve felt after a competition. Probably because I had to push my tired body so much harder yesterday.

This is the situation with the bruises from my farmers walk fuck up…

The Morning After the Competition Before. The agony of beating yourself up with farmers walk handles...

The Morning After the Competition Before. The agony of beating yourself up with farmers walk handles…

I’m off to have a nap now whilst ‘watching’ the rugby on TV.

Next week is a rest week. I need it. I’m so tired! Hope you all have a good week! I’m going to be eating a lot!

Leave a Reply

