Recovery, gluttony and it all starts again…

Hello!!

I decided not to bother you with ramblings about fuck all last week. I didn’t train at all so apart from the mountain of food I ate, there wasn’t much to tell. 

Don’t worry though, I’ll give you a brief summary of that gluttony in this post!! 

Last week…

Last week, I mostly ate burgers and as much as I enjoyed them, I did feel pretty crappy. But, they were amazing…

Monday: The Diner

A friend at work told me about this place and, having scrutinised the menu, I decided it had to be done! The training buddies and I caught up about our respective competitions over this feast!

The Diner:

The Diner: chilli burger with three types of fries – sweet potato, hanger and chilli cheese – all washed down with a Snickers shake.

Friday: Byron

I was meant to catch up with an old friend back in March, but things happen and we ended up putting it back until now. She fancied a burger. Who was I to argue?!?!

Byron:

Byron: The Byron burger and skin-on fries followed by a caramel and honeycomb sundae

Saturday: Burger Craft @ The Great Eastern pub, Island Gardens

Every month my knitting friends and I meet up for some public knitting, gossip and food. One of them has just had a baby, so we headed over to her end of London so I could meet the little man and indulged in THE BEST BURGER I HAVE EVER HAD!!! Louise, who is a fucking legend, made Coca-Cola chocolate cupcakes. I had two. And why not? The amount of shit I’d eaten over the week, two cupcakes weren’t going to make much difference!!

Burger Craft:

Burger Craft Farmyard Burger: beef burger, ham hock and fried duck egg, with mini hash browns

After many epic feasts and one of these:

This is full of peanut butter. My life is complete now I've had one of these!!

This is full of peanut butter. My life is complete now I’ve had one of these!!

I think it’s safe to say I’m fuelled and ready to hit the gym again to focus on this:

Yep. I'm fucked!

Yep. I’m fucked! Haha!

Yep. The next comp is only 5 weeks away (at the beginning of this training week. It’s only 4 weeks now…that’s only 3 proper training weeks left! FUCK!) and I am nervous!

Now, I am at peace with the fact that I may not be able to do half of the events and I really don’t mind if I come last (there are only 4 of us in the under-75kg weight class so coming last is incredibly likely). I’m going for the chance to pull a vehicle, deadlift a car and do these ‘proper’ Strongman events.

So, how’s it going to go?

Truck pull – well a car/van – 75 seconds
If the car/van thing moves then this is a victory; if it doesn’t, then it’s a photo opportunity!

Keg toss – 6 items – 4kg up to 16kg thrown over a 4m high frame – 60 seconds
This is going to be hilarious. I can’t swing a full sized keg between my legs and chucking something 4m into the air probably won’t happen either. I’ll end up with a lot of bruises from this one!

Car deadlift – approx. 120kg – max reps in 60 seconds
The handles are going to be at the side, so apparently this will make it easier. Still, it’s just under twice my body weight. For reps…

Overhead – 50kg log (3 points), 40kg Olympic bar (2 points), 30kg dumbbell (1 point) – max reps in 60 seconds
I’m not even contemplating the 50kg log. Let’s hope I can beat my PB of 10 reps of the 40kg bar.

Hussafel stone carry – approx. 60kg – for distance in 75 seconds
So, yeah, I’ve basically got to carry me for distance. Hilarious!!

Atlas stones – 30kg keg, 40kg, 65kg, 80kg stones – 60 seconds
The keg and the 40kg stone will be fine. If I can get the 65kg stone off the floor, I might be able to fight it onto the back of the truck. The 80kg stone will stay on the floor!

We’re seeing Mike on Saturday for some serious events training and I’m seeing him on Wednesday for some pressing. Fuck knows when I’m going to get the chance to pull a car. Anyone?!

To this week: I did some HIIT for 30 minutes on Saturday morning, to counteract the guilt maybe, but training didn’t start properly until Sunday. Here’s the round up:

Sunday 4th May

Mike decided he was going to get me to sign up for the England’s Strong Women Championship Midlands Qualifier  on Sunday 11th May. I wouldn’t be able to compete at under-63kg but I could try for under-75kg. I thought I’d try testing my max axle (and log) press to see if there was any chance I could lift the weight necessary for that comp. Well, I could do the starting weight and 2 further lifts. Let’s face it, I’m not strong enough to compete at under-75kg!! I struggle with under-63kg!!

Training Log
  • Axle clean and press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 42.5kg x 1
    • 45kg x 1
    • attempted 47.5kg…managed to clean it 4 times, but failed to press 😦
  • Log clean and press:
    • 30kg x
    • 35kg x 3
    • 37.5kg x 1
    • attempted 40kg…managed to clean it 3 times, but, again, no press 😦
  • Savickas press:
    • 17kg x 3
    • 22kg x 5
    • 27kg x 5
    • 29.5kg x 3, 3

I only did the final set because I was told that my back looked good and I wanted a picture as proof! #vain I must admit, my back didn’t look too bad!

My back during the Savickas press. Not bad I guess!

My back during the Savickas press. Not bad I guess!

  • Cycling to and from the gym:
    • approx. 6 miles each way; takes about 40 minutes with stopping at traffic lights like a good cyclist!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • slice of toast with banana and toffee peanut butter
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • instant coffee with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and sourdough toast
    • iced Americano
    • Drumstick lolly
  • Snack
    • vanilla redbush tea with skimmed milk
    • Cocoa Loco Nakd bar
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Dinner
    • prawn stir fry
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Before bed
    • hot cross bun
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt with protein powder, berries and cacao nibs

 

Monday 5th May

Once the next Strongwoman comp is over, I’m going to try my hand at Powerlifting. One of the training buddies has been trying to get me to go to Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club with her for ages. I’ve been twice, but I’ve decided I’m going to go regularly. So off I went to squat. I had a chat with the coach there and we’re all happy for me to compete at the London comp on 26th July. If I can get a total of 225kg, I could qualify for nationals in September. I’m pretty sure that with some focus, 225kg is achievable.

Training Log
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8, 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5
    • 60kg x 8
    • 70kg x 3
    • 80kg x 1
  • Front squats:
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5
    • 55kg x 3
    • 60kg x 1
    • 65kg x epic fail
    • 40kg x 5
  • Glute ham raises:
    • bodyweight x 10
    • +5kg x 10, 10
  • Bulgarian split squats:
    • 10.5kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Bicep curls:
    • 7kg x 10, 10, 10
  • Landmines
    • just the Oly bar x 8, 8, 8
  • Side bends
    • 15kgx 10, 10, 10
  • Standing abs
    • 15kg x 10
    • 25kg x 10
    • 30kg x 4; 25kg x 6
  • HIIT
    • 10 minutes – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8; 1 minute rest. Repeat!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • MyProtein protein pancakes made with egg and water, blueberries and Walden Farms pancake syrup
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • Assam tea with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • chicken and edamame stir fry
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt, berries and peanut butter
  • Snack
    • skinny caramel frappucino light
  • Post-workout
    • salt beef and mustard bagel
    • protein shake
  • Before bed
    • hot chocolate
    • protein cookie

 

Tuesday 6th May

Rest day 🙂 My triceps still hurt from Sunday. Everything else hurts from yesterday. Never has a rest day seemed so necessary after so little training! Despite the long weekend (Monday was a Bank Holiday), I am shattered! Pass the coffee please!!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, nutmeg, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, 5g wheat bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, tomatoes, avocado, onion, green beans, broccoli
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Dinner
    • steak with roasted squash, onions, garlic, peppers and tomatoes
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt with protein powder and berries
  • Before bed
    • liquorice and cinnamon tea
    • 9g dark, sugar-free chocolate

 

Wednesday 7th May

I was absolutely shattered this morning, and yesterday at work in the blaring heat of the office was unbearable because of the tiredness, so I upped the ante and grabbed a triple-shot latte for the walk to work. I think I might be immune to the effects of coffee 😦

Training Log – pressing with Mike
  • Axle clean and press:
    • 32kg and 42kg for lots!!
  • Log clean and press:
    • 30kg for lots!!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla triple shot latte
  • Snack
    • liquorice and oriental spice tea
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted veggies (left over from last night), broccoli, green beans and avocado
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • banana and peanut butter
    • Little Miracles black tea drink
  • Post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Dinner
    • scrambled egg on toast
    • yoghurt, berries and protein powder

 

Thursday 8th May

Another morning, another triple-shot espresso beverage! Why do I feel so tired?!?! ARGH!!

Thursday is, as always, d(r)eadlift day. Mike wants me to do 80kg deadlifts for sets of 10-12. Sometimes I really don’t like that man 😉

Training Log
  • Trap bar deadlifts:
    • 25kg x 10
    • 55kg x 8
    • 75kg x 5
    • 95kg x 5
    • 105kg x 1
    • 115kg x 1
    • 120kg x 0, 1, 1
  • Deadlifts:
    • 50kg x 10
    • 70kg x 8
    • 80kg x 12, 10
  • Yates rows:
    • 50kg x 8, 10, 10
  • Barbell hip thrusts:
    • 42kg x 12
    • 62kg x 12
    • 82kg x 12
  • Pull ups:
    • 3, 3, 2 …how depressing 😦
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free caramel macchiato
Caramel macchiato a.k.a. my heroin

Caramel macchiato a.k.a. my heroin

  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • chicken, quinoa, roasted veggies (leftover from Tuesday night), broccoli, green beans, avocado
    • apple and cinnamon tea
  • Snack
    • banana and peanut butter
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • Little Miracles black tea drink
  • Post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Dinner
    • 3 rashers of bacon, fried egg and beans on toast
    • 2 squares of sugar-free dark chocolate
    • hot chocolate

 

Friday 9th May

OK so this week can bite my arse! Thank fuck it’s Friday.

Training Log
  • HIIT
    • 10 minutes – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8; 1 minute rest. Repeat!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, blueberries, wheat bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • triple shot, skinny, sugar-free caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • strawberry crunch Nakd bar
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • piri piri chicken, bacon, rice, quinoa, broccoli, green beans, avocado and tomatoes
    • liquorice and oriental spice tea
  • Snack
    • apple
    • Little Miracles green tea drink
  • Dinner
      • chicken and veg Balti with pilau rice
      • Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup ice cream (a little tub, honest!!)

    Thank fuck this comes in small 150ml tubs!!

    Thank fuck this comes in small 150ml tubs!!

  • Before bed
    • 2 squares stevia cocoa nibs chocolate
    • hot chocolate

 

Saturday 9th May

I woke up before my alarm this morning, which was surprising, and I didn’t feel quite so tired as I have the rest of the week. Woohoo! Good job as I had an epic events session awaiting me!

Training Log – events training with Mike

I didn’t write down exactly what I did and how many sets etc. but it fucking hurt and I felt exhausted!!!

  • Axle clean and press:
    • started with the 20kg Oly bar for a warm up
    • few sets with the 32kg axle on its own
    • few sets at 42kg for 3 reps…
    • 2 max reps in 60 seconds sets…I got 5 and 4 😦 Should’ve listened to my coach!!
  • Atlas stones:
    • loaded over a 48″ yoke
    • 30kg keg, 40kg, 50kg Atlas stones
    • I almost loaded the 60kg stone!! Last time I went near that thing, I only managed to get it to my lap once. PROGRESS!! 🙂
  • “Hussafel stones”:
    • well, sandbag carry. My legs gave out just before I hit the 30m mark on my first 2 goes; Mike lowered the weight for my third go by about 10kg and I managed 30m fairly easily…
  • “Keg toss”:
    • or rather, throwing medicine balls in the air! 6kg, 9kg and 15kg. Hmmm…
    • I did try to swing one of the kegs but my legs are too short! This comp is going to be hilarious! Haha!
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 2 whole eggs, mashed banana, blueberries, 2 rashers bacon
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • Assam with skimmed milk
  • Post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Lunch
    • chicken and cashew stir fry
    • pear
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Snack
    • Chai tea with skimmed milk
    • 2 slices of raisin and cinnamon bread with butter
    • hot chocolate
    • protein cookie
  • Dinner
    • homemade ribs with butternut squash wedges and steamed spring greens
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt, stevia dark chocolate, berries
How I had the energy to make anything for dinner is beyond me!

How I had the energy to make anything for dinner is beyond me!

  • Before bed
    • Maltesers hot chocolate
    • rice cake with Lotus biscuit spread – oh dear!

 

Sunday 10th May

No lifting today as we did pressing as part of our events session and, frankly, I was exhausted from yesterday! The training buddies suggested a change of scene for breakfast, so we headed to The Breakfast Club on Battersea Rise. Being the lovely people that they are, they did the queuing, so when I arrived there was only one group ahead of us.

The change was nice, but I’m glad I didn’t have to do the queuing. I’m not sure if it was that good…

I had planned to do some early morning HIIT before work tomorrow, but the thought of a 5.30am alarm made me feel nauseated so I did it this evening instead…

Training Log
  • HIIT
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • skinny latte
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
  • Brunch
    • Breakfast Club All American: bacon, pancakes, sausage, poached eggs, fried potatoes, maple syrup
    • macchiato
The All American.

The All American.

  • Snack
    • chocolate froyo with granola
    • acai and pomegranate Vita Coco
    • chilli chai tea
    • peanut and caramel protein bar
    • chocolate tea
  • Dinner
    • chicken, bacon and broccoli pasta (made with low-fat cream cheese)
    • Coyo chocolate coconut milk yoghurt with berries

I’ll shut up now! Have a good week! 🙂

xx

Leave a Reply

