Training, training, training. Oh, and a personal victory!

Well, not long now! The comp is within sniffing distance and I still haven’t tried pulling a van! Oh well. That’s probably the least of my worries. Or maybe it’s just the tip of the iceberg. We’ll see.

This comp is going to be my last one for a while: it seems utterly ridiculous that I will have done 4 competitions in 3 months in my first year of competition. I think my rather bruised breast bone, collarbone, chin and nose will be grateful! πŸ˜‰

One of the highlights this week was having my first mocha cookie crumble frappucino (light and without cream!!) of the year! Woohoo! Another comes on Saturday. You’ll have to scroll down to find out about that one!

Here we go then, 3 weeks out from the comp…

Monday 12th May

I am such an idiot! I had to squat in the Olympic lifting area of Bethnal Green Weightlifting Club and stupidly picked up a 15kg bar. I didn’t realise until after I’d done my million sets of back and front squats. No wonder I managed 5 working sets of 5! It was 65kg not 70kg!!

Training Log
  • Squats:
    • 15kg x 10, 8
    • 35kg x 8
    • 45kg x 5
    • 55kg x 5
    • 65kg x 5, 5, 5, 5, 5
  • Front squats:
    • 35kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 45kg x 5
  • Dumbbell split squats:
    • 10.5kg x 8, 8, 8
  • GHR:
    • +5kg x 10
    • +10kg x 10, 10
  • Standing abs:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 10, 10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, banana, bran, blueberries, honey, mixed seeds
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • skinny sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with skimmed milk
    • Little Miracles black tea drink
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted tomatoes and mushrooms, broccoli, green beans, sliced greens, avocado, bacon

      My lunch :-)

      My lunch πŸ™‚

    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • Coco Cafe latte
    • Clif white chocolate and macadamia bar
  • Post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Dinner
    • 3 scrambled eggs on toast
    • yoghurt, peanut butter and berries
  • Before bed
    • hot chocolate
    • 2 squares dark chocolate

 

Tuesday 13th May

It was a grim day in London, but it brightened up just in time for my walk to the station

It was a grim day in London, but it brightened up just in time for my walk to the station

A beautiful, well-deserved rest day and an evening consisting of a hot bath, manga, and a hot chocolate and a graphic novel in bed!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, bran, honey, mixed seeds
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • triple shot, skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted tomatoes and mushrooms, broccoli, green beans, sliced greens, avocado, bacon
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • Options hot chocolate and a spoonful of instant coffee
  • Dinner
    • garlic and coriander prawn stir fry with cashews
    • berries, yoghurt, whey and handful chocolate raisins
    • Good Mood tea
  • Before bed
    • hot chocolate

 

Wednesday 14th May

Mike suggested I have a few sessions with an Olympic lifting coach to work on my floor to overhead with a bar. He recommended a guy called Bobby, so I got myself booked in! That 50kg will be mine! And then 60kg…

Training Log
  • Power clean and power jerk coaching session with Bobby:
    • I didn’t write down exactly what I did, but Bobby broke down the power clean and the power jerk into its component parts, which on the most part, I did well.
    • Putting it together, however, was a different matter – I always forgot to something!!
    • Bobby seemed pleased with how quickly I picked things up though.
    • I’ve got “homework” to do – floor to above the knees, and hang cleans
  • Log press:
    • 30kg x 5, 5 (3 viper presses), 5 (all vipers), 5 (all vipers), 5 (4 vipers)
  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 45kg x 5, 2, 2
  • Dips:
    • 10, 8, 8
  • Savickas press:
    • 17kg x 10
    • 22kg x 10, 10
  • Triceps push downs:
    • 20kg x 12, 12
    • 20kg x 9, 15kg x 9, 10kg x 6, 5kg x 15
  • HIIT:
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Early morning HIIT. The minions were impressed!

Early morning HIIT. The minions were impressed!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, banana, bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • tall, skinny, sugar-free vanilla caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • liquorice and oriental spice tea
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted tomatoes and mushrooms, broccoli, green beans, sliced greens, avocado, bacon
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • Coco Cafe mocha
    • Bounce ball – cacao mint
    • Little Miracles green tea
  • post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Dinner
    • smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast
    • berries, yoghurt, whey, 1 square stevia dark chocolate

 

Thursday 15th May

D(r)eadlift day! This session was awful: trap bar deadlifts, the closest I’m going to get to deadlifting a car before the comp, did not go well at all 😦 I could barely get 115kg off the floor (and I only did by rounding my back slightly). 120kg, the comp weight, wasn’t happening at all!!

So what did I do? I kept trying. What should I have done? I should’ve taken the weight down to something I could rep with good form and stuck with that.

But I didn’t, and guess what, I pissed myself off completely and allowed myself to get wound up by it. I’m such an idiot!

Conventional deadlifts were a delight, as always, especially when repping 80kg. Tara and I also embraced another of Mike’s suggestions: the partial squat. My god did we look like knobs!

Training Log
  • Trap bar deadlifts:
    • 25kg x 10
    • 55kg x 5
    • 75kg x 5
    • 95kg x 5
    • 115kg x 2, 1, 1
  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 70kg x 5
    • 80kg x 10, 10
  • Yates rows:
    • 40kg x 12, 12, 12, 12
  • Partial squats:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 80kg x 8
    • 100kg x 8
    • 110kg x 8
    • 120kg x 8
  • Hip thrusts:
    • 52kg x 12
    • 72kg x 12
    • 82kg x 12
Tara and I showing off our new vests. Of course, mine has a unicorn vomiting and shitting rainbows!

Tara and I showing off our new vests. Of course, mine has a unicorn vomiting and shitting rainbows!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, bran
    • glutamine peptides, Yakault light
    • sugar-free skinny vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
    • banana
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted tomatoes and mushrooms, broccoli, green beans, sliced greens, avocado, bacon
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • cashew and pecan Bounce ball
    • Cafe Coco latte
    • apple
    • Little Miracles green tea
  • Post-workout
    • protein shake
  • Dinner
    • 2 scrambled eggs, toast, smoked salmon
    • berries, whey, yoghurt, cacao nibs
  • Before bed
    • 2 squares dark chocolate

 

Friday 16th May

Apart from an early morning HIIT session, today was a rest day. I went to the cinema with one of my training buddies this evening: Pompeii at Empire, Leicester Square. My god it was fucking awful! This was the best bit:

The best bit of the movie...

The best bit of the movie…

which came 10 minutes in. I spent the rest of the film in stitches because it was so bad!! We made up for the Hollywood-shitness by heading to Bodean’s for ribs and burnt ends. WIN!!

Training Log
  • HIIT (fasted, AM):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds
    • Yakault light
    • iced skinny caramel macchiato (sugar-free syrup)
    • banana
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, roasted tomatoes and mushrooms, broccoli, green beans, sliced greens, avocado, bacon
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
    • Little Miracles peach and black tea
  • Snack
    • apple
    • mocha cookie crumble frappucino light (no cream)
    • 3 pieces of liquorice
  • Dinner
    • Baby back ribs, burnt ends, coleslaw, sweet potato fries, onion rings (Bodean’s)

      Bodean's might actually be my favourite restaurant!!

      Bodean’s might actually be my favourite restaurant!!

    • Pepsi Max
    • 2 scoops Ben & Jerry’s
  • Before bed
    • chocolate raisins
    • 1 square Stevia dark chocolate

 

Saturday 17th May

I had probably my last Atlas stones session before the competition today, which has left me feeling exhausted and like I’ve crushed my chest. It was well worth it though! I love it when all my hard work pays off! Yay for progress!!

My beloved Harlequins were playing in the Aviva Premiership semi-final today, so The Boyfriend and I settled down in front of the TV to watch…sadly it wasn’t our day. Alas. Bloody Saracens. I really can’t find anything to like about them, especially when they beat the Mighty Quins!

The Mighty Quins. Sadly it wasn't our day :-(

The Mighty Quins. Sadly it wasn’t our day 😦

Training Log
  • Atlas stones and carries with Mike:
    • I decided I needed more practice with the Atlas stones and heavy carries, so I arranged a short session with Mike. That 60kg Atlas stone was going to be mine.
    • And it was! Twice!! Woohoo! Over a 48″ yoke πŸ™‚
    • Once I’d done that, we went through my technique with the 40kg stone. I think I get it now, but it’s taken its toll on my biceps.
    • Carrying heavy loads sucks, but I managed 45m with the really heavy sandbag (last week I could barely do 30m)
    • All in all, a bloody good session. Mike recordedΒ my 60kg stone load, so I’ll post that once he’s sent it to me πŸ™‚
  • Cycling to and from Mike’s:
    • About 6 miles each way. Takes about 40 minutes with all the stopping at traffic lights.
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • toffee peanut butter and banana on toast
    • Yakault light
    • Nespresso latte
  • Snack
    • espresso
    • lemon cream protein chox
    • mocha cookie crumble light frappucino (no cream)
  • Lunch
    • Vivid Matcha tea drink
    • blueberry protein pancakes
    • apple and elderflower yoghurt
    • apple
  • Dinner 1
    • tuna sashimi, tuna, salmon and tilapia maki rolls, edamame, soft-shell crab tempura

      All of a sudden there are 2 sushi restaurants within a 15 minute walk of my flat. And they're not chains!!

      All of a sudden there are 2 sushi restaurants within a 15 minute walk of my flat. And they’re not chains!!

    • aloe vera drink
    • herbal tea
    • strawberry and elderberry frozen yoghurt
  • Dinner 2
    • boiled eggs and soldiers (1 piece toast)
    • oat and spelt thin with hazelnut butter
    • Vita Coco peach and mango
  • Before bed
    • chilli chocolate hot chocolate
    • protein cookie

 

Sunday 18th May

I woke up this morning feeling broken. My arms, particularly my left biceps, were killing me! Stupidly, I still went and did a pressing session, which was fine until the 40kg clean and power jerk (I had to drop the weight rather than put it down) and the dumbbell shoulder press (the training buddies had to pass me the dumbbells because I couldn’t get the weight from my lap!!). Stupid, stupid girl!

Training Log
  • Clean and power jerk:
    • All my drills… including 2 sets of 10 hang cleans (one at 24kg, another at 30kg)
    • 30kg x 5, 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3 – this hurt too much. Damn it!!
  • Savickas press:
    • 17kg x 8
    • 27kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 8kg x 10, 10, 10
  • Rotator cuff stuff (exterior and interior):
    • 1kg x 10, 10, 10
  • Straight arm pushdowns:
    • 15kg x 15
    • 20kg x 15
    • 25kg x 15
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • toffee peanut butter and banana on toast
    • Yakault light
    • tea with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast
    • apple juice
  • Snack
    • Mocha cookie crumble frappucino (no cream)

      If caramel macchiatos are my heroin, then these are my crack. Although, without the whipped cream. I can't stand whipped cream!!

      If caramel macchiatos are my heroin, then these are my crack. Although, without the whipped cream. I can’t stand whipped cream!!

    • peach, camomile and green tea drink
    • apple and elderflower yoghurt with berries
    • peach and mango Vita Coco
    • 3 square of Stevia dark chocolate – I’m just eating for eating’s sake!!
  • Dinner
    • teriyaki rump steak, sweet potato wedges, stuffed yellow peppers (with quinoa, buckwheat, garlic, chilli, cashews and cheese)
    • chocolate CoYo coconut milk yoghurt with a handful of raisins
    • mini eggs

Yeah, so I can’t claim that my diet has been great this week. Better, but still too many of those sweet treats. Ah well…

Do you have a sweet tooth? What are you unable to resist?

Until next week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

