Breaking Bad, Godzilla, Nando’s, Chicken Wings and Oreos. Oh, and training…

Welcome to another week of me eating a load of shit (my diet really needs sorting…) and training for a comp that might kill me! Haha.

This week has felt incredibly long and I’ve been really grumpy. Thankfully, once I’ve got through this week, there is a long Bank Holiday weekend, so I can have a lovely lie in on Monday morning.

Last week, I told you all about my 60kg Atlas stone victory. Well, Mike posted the video on Friday so here you are. See, I was telling the truth 😉 I’m still so proud of myself though. It really is a milestone. Now, where’s that 80kg bastard!

OK that was last week. Here’s this week. Nothing nearly as exciting, but I don’t think I could’ve coped with excitement this week!

Monday 19th May

Mondays always come around so bloody quickly. Oh for a shorter working week!

Monday means squats! Again, I headed up to Bethnal Green to the Powerlifting club with one of the training buddies. I can’t actually squat with her because she’s about 6″ taller than me so I worked in on rack squats with Laura, who’s working up to the London Clubs comp on 26th July – the one I hope will be my first Powerlifting comp – and who’s on a mission to get that 100kg squat. She’s significantly closer to it than I am, although I surprised myself with the rack squats.

Training Log
  • Rack squats (with Laura):
    • 20kg x 8, 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 3
    • 80kg x 1
    • 85kg x 1 (but failed first attempt)
    • 87.5kg x 1
    • 90kg x 1 (with a little help)
  • Front squats:
    • 40kg x 5
    • 45kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5, 5
  • Good mornings:
    • 30kg x 8
    • 35kg x 8
    • 40kg x 8
  • Step ups (10″ box):
    • 15kg x 8, 8, 8
  • GHR:
    • +10kg x 10, 10, 10
  • Standing abs
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 10, 10
  • Side bends
    • 15kg x 10, 10, 10
  • HIIT (fasted, at 6am!):
    • 5 minute warm up, 10 minutes intervals – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8; 1 minute rest. Repeat! 5 minutes stretching
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, 3g wheat bran, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds
    • Yakault light
    • banana
    • grande skinny, sugar-free iced caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, broccoli, green beans, greens, tomatoes, peri peri sauce, avocado
    • Itsu frozen yoghurt with berries
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • 9 bar nutty
    • Coco Cafe mocha
  • Post-workout
    • Muscle Milk protein shake
  • Dinner
    • harissa chicken and cous cous salad (M&S)
    • raspberry and rooibos drink (M&S)
    • coconut milk yoghurt with berries and Wholefoods chocolate hazelnut butter
  • Before bed
    • 2 squares dark chocolate
    • herbal tea

 

Tuesday 20th May

Rest day ❤

I always seem to be more tired on rest days, and true to form, I was in bed by 9.30pm!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, 3g wheat bran, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds
    • Yakault light
    • grande skinny sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, broccoli, green beans, greens, tomatoes, peri peri sauce, avocado
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
    • good mood tea
    • 2 oat and spelt cakes and hazelnut butter
  • Dinner
    • chicken and veg pasta with cheese
    • yoghurt, berries, whey, stevia chocolate
  • Before bed
    • sugar-free coffee flavoured dark chocolate

 

Wednesday 21st May

After smacking myself in the nose on Sunday, I decided I should probably have another session with Bobby. We went through loads of drills and I definitely think I’ve got better. I tried a 50kg at the end, but failed it. Oh well. At least I didn’t bash myself in the face again!

Other than that, Wednesday was pretty boring. There was work, lifting, coffee and food. I had Nando’s for the first time in an age! YUM!! 🙂

Training Log
  • Power clean and power jerk work with Bobby:
    • Lots and lots and lots of drills!!
    • Lots and lots and lots of cleans!!
    • Lots and lots and lots of jerks!!
    • Lots and lots and lots of sweat!!
    • Tried a 50kg jerk, but couldn’t quite do it! Booooo!!!
  • Log press:
    • 30kg x 5, 5 (all vipers)
    • 32.5kg x 2 vipers and 3 presses
  • Dumbbell incline bench press:
    • 12.5kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Triceps pushdowns:
    • 25kg x 15
    • 30kg x 12, 12
  • HIIT (fasted at 6am):
    • 5 minute warm up, 10 minutes intervals – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8; 1 minute rest. Repeat! 5 minutes stretching
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, 2 whole eggs, mixed seeds, wheat bran, honey, hazelnut butter
    • Yakault light
    • triple shot, tall, skinny, sugar-free caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • Vita Coco lemonade
    • apple and toffee crunch peanut butter
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Lunch
    • chicken and vegetables in tomato and basil sauce, rice, broccoli, greens
    • Little Miracles green tea
  • Snack
    • Chi coconut milk espresso drink
    • mango
    • cacao mint Bounce ball – these are AMAZING!! I think they’ve replaced the coconut and macadamia ones as my favourites!
  • Dinner
    • Nando’s 1/2 chicken (mango and lime), ratatouille, avocado
Oh my beloved! I have missed you!

Oh my beloved! I have missed you!

  • Before bed
    • berries, whey, yoghurt, hazelnut butter

 

Thursday 22nd May

I had a day out of the office today (only to be stuck in another stuffy, hot room for a day) and ended up feeling a bit ill. Thankfully, I got out of there at about 3.30pm, so went for a walk and grabbed a frappucino.

I managed to get the 120kg trap bar off the floor once. On the day, I know I’ll be able to round my back (yeah I know that’s bad!) to do more than one rep. I definitely don’t want to be doing that shit in training. ARGH deadlifts. Why do you hate me so?

Training Log
  • Trap bar deadlift:
    • 25kg x 10
    • 55kg x 5
    • 75kg x 5
    • 95kg x 5
    • 105kg x 2
    • 115kg x 1
    • 120kg x 1
    • 110kg x 9 (max reps in 60secs)
  • Partial squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 60kg x 10
    • 100kg x 8
    • 120kg x 8
  • Yates row:
    • 50kg x 12, 12
    • 55kg x 10, 10
  • Hip thrusts:
    • 32kg x 10
    • 72kg x 10
    • 92kg x 10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, 1 egg white, agave, cacao nibs
    • Yakault light
    • grande, triple shot, sugar free, skinny iced caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • banana
    • blackcurrant tea
  • Lunch
    • Itsu chicken rice potsu
  • Snack
    • apple
    • grapes
    • white chocolate and macadamia Clif bar
    • Mocha Cookie Crumble light
  • Post-workout:
    • protein shake
    • Sainsbury’s pistachio, cashew, cranberry and yoghurt raisin pot
  • Dinner
    • Sainsbury’s mozzarella and tomato salad with chicken
    • yoghurt, berries, hazelnut butter, agave

 

Friday 23rd May

I decided not to get up at 5.45am to do fasted cardio – I’m going to Super-girl training on Saturday morning and I’ll be cycling there and back – so Friday became a complete rest day. I also had the evening to myself, so I finally started watching Breaking Bad. I’m pretty certain that crystal meth is being diffused into my  living room because I am hooked already.

My new TV love. Finally!!

My new TV love. Finally!!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, mixed spice, whole egg, 1 egg white, honey, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • Yakault light
    • skinny latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • chicken and vegetables in tomato and basil sauce, rice, broccoli, greens, green beans
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • caramel and peanut protein chox
  • Dinner
    • M&S Fuller for Longer pork loin with mash and cider gravy
    • yoghurt, berries and peanut butter
  • Before bed
    • 2 squares dark squares

 

Saturday 24th May

I haven’t been to Super-girl training for such a long time, so I knew this was going to hurt. A lot. My hip flexors were screaming during the prowler push, my hamstrings really weren’t keen on the sled pulls and the rain had made the big tyre impossible to grip, let alone flip!

We went see Godzilla this afternoon, followed by a massive feast at the Urban Diner (again). I’ve made a pact with the guys at work not to have a burger until we go to Shake Shack on 5th June, so I had to go for something different. I wasn’t expecting the chicken wings to be quite so huge! Oops. I’ve resigned myself to today being a cheat day. Oh well!

Godzilla. She just wants hugs!

Godzilla. She just wants hugs!

Training Log
  • Cycling to Rosslyn Park (for SGT) and back:
    • it’s about 5.5 miles from my house and takes roughly half an hour
  • Super-girl training (SGT):
    • tyre flips, farmers walks, prowler pushes, one-arm rows (the dumbbells were meant for pressing, but I’m pressing tomorrow!), sled pulls (using a truck pulling harness)
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • Rude Health honey nut granola, 0% fat Greek yoghurt, blueberries, whey, raisins
    • Yakault light
    • assam and skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
    • protein cookie
    • ‘mocha’
  • Lunch
    • 4 small slices of sourdough bread, butter, ham, Red Leicester, tomatoes, lettuce
    • Moroccan mint and white tea drink
Got me some bread, ham and cheese :-)

Got me some bread, ham and cheese 🙂

  • Snack
    • 2 squares dark chocolate
    • pineapple Vita Coco
    • Pepsi max
  • Dinner
    • barbecue wings, barbecue beans and sweet potato fries (oops…)
    • autumn fruits smoothie
    • salted caramel frozen yoghurt with Oreos (oops)
Dinner time gluttony

Dinner time gluttony

  • Before bed
    • Malteser bunny (oops)
    • a little bit of kendal mint cake (oops…)
    • Chi chocolate coconut milk (oops again…)

 

I can’t believe the Zeus comp is only 2 weeks away. I must remember I am doing this for fun. I’m going to struggle with a lot of it so I mustn’t allow myself to get angry because I can’t do everything. As long as I get one rep on everything, then at least there’s a chance of a photo! Haha!

Have you ever done anything completely out of your league? Did you surprise yourself? Please tell me some stories with happy endings!!

Until next week x

Leave a Reply

