PBs, van pulls, Oreos and holy fuck! 1 week until the comp!

Time is flying by. How the hell is it June already? I can’t believe that instead of putting the finishing touches to my blog this time next week I’ll be pulling vans, deadlifting cars, tossing kegs and all kinds of other stupid stuff. Despite doing this comp for fun and the photo opportunities, I’m still fucking shit scared.

This week, my confidence grew in a couple of events as I actually got to practise the van pulls and the trap bar deadlift seemed easier. Let’s hope things go that well next week!

These arrived on Thursday:

Do I dare open them?!?!

Do I dare open them?!?!

Now, I know I haven’t got to worry about making weight, but I know if I open these, there won’t be any stopping me. And there are a hell of a lot of Oreos in there…

Anyway, back to training:

Sunday 25th May

Training today knackered me out completely, which is strange considering it was quite a short session. Before I could spend the rest of my day watching Breaking Bad, I had to have a nap. But then I lost my Sunday…

Training Log
  • Clean and press:
    • All the drills…
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 40kg x 10 (max reps in 60 seconds)
  • Log clean and press:
    • 30kg x 5
    • 32.5kg x 5, 5
    • 35kg x 5
  • Savickas press:
    • 27kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Cycling to and from the gym:
    • about 6.5 miles; takes about 35 minutes
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 2 small slices sourdough toast with toffee crunch peanut butter and banana
    • Yakault light
    • coffee with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • 3 egg omelette with mushroom and onion, sourdough toast with butter and Marmite, hash brown, baked beans
    • mango and passionfruit smoothie
    • Drumstick
Another different breakfast! I'm a maverick!

Another different breakfast! I’m a maverick!

  • Snack
    • apple with peanut butter
    • Ceylon tea with skimmed milk
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Dinner
    • 3 small slices of sourdough with butter, lettuce, tomatoes, ham, Red Leicester
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt, whey, berries and 1 square Stevia chocolate
  • Before bed
    • hot chocolate almond milk with cinnamon
    • 2 squares dark chocolate

 

Monday 26th May

Bank Holiday Monday. I fucking love Bank Holiday Mondays 🙂

I didn’t go to Bethnal Green today because there was engineering works on the trains so getting there would’ve been a complete pain in the arse. So I worked out at home for the first time in a loooooong time. I went for a squat PB, but alas I failed. I think my 85kg squat might’ve been slightly shallow. 😦 Oh well, one day there will be progress.

Training Log
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10, 8
    • 60kg x 8, 8
    • 70kg x 3
    • 75kg x 3
    • 80kg x 1
    • 85kg x 1
    • 90kg x 0 😦
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5
    • 60kg x 1
    • 65kg x 1 (Woohoo!! That’s more than bodyweight! I think…)
  • Dumbbell Bulgarian split squats:
    • 30lb x 8, 8, 8
  • Good mornings:
    • 40kg x 10
    • 45kg x 10, 10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g Rude Health honey nut granola, berries, whey and 0% fat Greek yoghurt
    • Yakault light
    • tea with skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • Chai tea with skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • 3 scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, sour dough toast, butter
  • Snack
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Dinner
    • Korean food – which included a lot of rice, but also sashimi, grilled fish, tofu, stir fried beef and pork, and probably other things that I can’t remember!
    • Green tea ice cream
  • Before bed
    • Options hot chocolate
    • MyProtein white chocolate and almond cookie

 

Tuesday 27th May

As usual, today was a rest day. Nothing else to mention…

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • Yakault light
    • skinny, triple latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • chicken, rice, green beans, broccoli, tomatoes, peri peri sauce, avocado
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple
  • Dinner
    • Moroccan-spiced turkey mince with veggies, quinoa and roasted butternut squash
    • berries with Stevia chocolate

 

Wednesday 28th May

Work dragged today because I was desperate to get to the gym. Today’s workout was all about pulling 4 tonne vans. Hell yeah!!

Training Log
  • Van pulls:
    • 2 goes at the c.2 tonne mini van over about 20m
    • 2 goes at the c.4 tonne big van over about 20m
  • Atlas stones:
    • only managed the 60kg stone once. Gutted!
  • HIIT (6am-ish, fasted):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml chocolate almond milk, 15g raisins, nutmeg, whole egg, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • Yakault light
    • skinny, triple-shot mocha
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • Moroccan-spiced turkey mince with veggies, quinoa, avocado and roasted butternut squash
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • cacao mint Bounce ball
  • Dinner
    • Urban Diner New Yorker hot dog (with cheese and sauerkraut) and sweet potato fries
    • berry smoothie
A self-imposed burger ban meant a hot dog instead. It was alright. It wasn't a burger though...

A self-imposed burger ban meant a hot dog instead. It was alright. It wasn’t a burger though…

  • Before bed
    • 2 squares dark chocolate

 

Thursday 29th May

I’ve been reading The Sandman collection by Neil Gaiman recently and I have loved every single second of it!! Sadly today, I finished the tenth, and final, graphic novel 😦 I’m truly gutted.

The pain was eased slightly when I got home and found Book Two of 100 Bullets waiting for me. Woohoo!!

Woohoo! Book Two finally arrived! Yay!!

Woohoo! Book Two finally arrived! Yay!!

Training Log
  • Trap bar deadlifts:
    • 25kg x 10
    • 65kg x 5
    • 85kg x 5
    • 105kg x 3
    • 115kg x 2
    • 120kg x 1
    • 120kg x 8 (max reps in 60 seconds) FUCKIN’ A!!!!
  • Yates rows:
    • 50kg x 10, 10
    • 55kg x 10, 11
  • Barbell hip thrusts:
    • 42kg x 10
    • 62kg x 10
    • 82kg x 10
    • 102kg x 10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml chocolate almond milk, 15g raisins, nutmeg, whole egg, mixed seeds, wheat bran
    • Yakault light
    • skinny latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • Moroccan-spiced turkey mince with veggies, quinoa, avocado and roasted butternut squash
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple
    • cacao mint Bounce ball
    • Coco Cafe latte
    • Redbush tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • Vitamin Water
  • Dinner
    • venison sausage and veggie casserole with rice
    • yoghurt with berries, chocolate peanut butter and cacao nibs

 

Friday 30th May

I always find four day weeks really long and this week hasn’t been an exception.

My diet has gone totally off recently and today was one of the worst days I’ve had in a long time. Before anyone berates me, I’m not on a “diet”. What I mean is I have been eating for the sake of eating and making really bad food choices. It’s was all going well until dinner. Oops. It’s bloody embarrassing!

Training Log
  • HIIT (6am-ish, fasted):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml chocolate almond milk, 15g raisins, nutmeg, whole egg, mixed seeds
    • Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
  • Lunch
    • venison sausage and veggie casserole with rice, avocado and goat’s cheese
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Dinner
    • rabbit cooked in cider with bacon, peas, carrots and Polish pancake noodles
    This was the first time I've eaten rabbit. I really enjoyed it! :-)

    This was the first time I’ve eaten rabbit. I really enjoyed it! 🙂

    • 1/2 portion of apple fritters and 1/2 portion chocolate torte with cinnamon ice cream

    Couldn't decide between these two desserts. Thankfully, my friend was happy to share!

    Couldn’t decide between these two desserts. Thankfully, my friend was happy to share!

  • Before bed…OH. DEAR!
    • Cadbury’s fruit and nut…
    • salted pop chips…
    • Oreos…
    • Options hot chocolate…

 

Saturday 31st May

Unplanned, but necessary, rest day. Super-girl was cancelled, and I couldn’t be arsed to do anything other than watch Saints with the Premiership and Breaking Bad. Judge me!

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • Rude Health honey and nut granola, 0% fat Greek yoghurt, vanilla protein powder, blueberries
    • Yakault light
    • Assam with skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • pineapple Vita Coco
  • Lunch
    • smoked mackerel and duck egg salad with rye bread (and butter…)
Lunch :-)

Lunch 🙂

    • dandelion and fennel tea
  • Snack
    • “mocha”
  • Dinner
    • chipotle chicken, baked sweet potato (and butter…) and steamed veggies
Dinner :-)

Dinner 🙂

    • slice of rye bread
    • 0% fat Greek yoghurt, Nuts n More toffee crunch peanut butter, berries
  • Before bed
    • 2 squares of dark chocolate

 

And that’s it. The last week of heavy training before the comp is done! Next week’s blog will be a day late and hopefully I won’t have hurt myself too much!

Leave a Reply

