Going head-to-head with my training buddy…

Here we are then. Competition week. Time to rest and eat. Eating’s the easy bit. The resting, not so much.

There’s not much to really tell you apart from the small matter of my fourth competition in three months. So what happened? Oh, I came second. But more about that later…

This week, I also failed completely to clean up my diet. This is becoming a problem and I HAVE to sort this out next week. Good job Tara’s on the case with a new nutrition plan.

Anyway, as per usual here’s a run down of this week…

Sunday 1st June

My last “heavy” training session before the competition and I somehow managed to pull a log clean and press PB out of the bag. Woohoo!

Training Log
  • Push press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 8
  • Clean and press:
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 40kg x 9 (max reps in 60 seconds)
  • Log press:
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 2, 1 (WOOHOO!! PB BABY!!)
  • Savickas press:
    • 27kg x 8
    • 32kg x 3, 3, 5
  • Triceps pushdowns (rope):
    • 20kg x 12
    • 25kg x 10, 10
  • Cycling to and from the gym (6.5 miles each way, takes about 35 minutes)
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g granola with yoghurt, berries, banana, tsp peanut butter
    • Yakault light
    • Assam with skimmed milk
  • Brunch
    • Nutella French toast with bacon and maple syrup
One measly rasher of bacon on an otherwise amazing breakfast!

One measly rasher of bacon on an otherwise amazing breakfast!

    • Autumn fruits smoothie
  • Snack
    • lemon cream MyProtein protein chox bar
    • Ceylon tea with skimmed milk
    • apple and peanut butter
    • 3 salted caramel truffles…
  • Dinner
    • sweet chilli turkey stir fry
    • slice of rye bread
    • chocolate WheyHey! protein ice cream with peanut butter Oreos…
WheyHey!!

WheyHey! and peanut butter Oreos. Pretty awesome!

  • Before bed
    • a fuck load more peanut butter Oreos
    • Maltesers hot chocolate

 

Monday 2nd June

Today, I woke up determined to sort out the diet! My only real failure was the caramel macchiato I had on my way to work. I can do this!

It being deload week, I’m not going anywhere near a barbell until comp day, but I can’t not do any resistance training. I decided to mimic as many things as I could using a fairly light kettlebell. I felt pretty pathetic, but at least no-one could see me 😉

Training Log
  • HIIT (6am-ish, fasted):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds gentle work x 10 – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
  • kettlebell circuit using a 12kg kettlebell:
    • goblet squats x 20, 20, 20
    • 1-leg deadlifts x 10, 10, 10
    • goblet split squats x 10, 10, 10
    • 2-arm swings x 20, 20, 20
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml chocolate almond milk, 15g raisins, nutmeg, whole egg, bran
    • Yakault light
    • banana
    • tall, skinny, sugar-free caramel macchiato
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • Lunch
    • 2 chicken breasts, rice and quinoa, lots of veggies, Nando’s garlic peri peri, avocado
    • liquorice and peppermint tes
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • pineapple coconut water
  • Dinner
    • cod and vegetable rogan josh with rice
    • yoghurt, berries and peanut butter

 

Tuesday 3rd June

Rest day and a fairly good diet day. A couple of hiccups – hot chocolate, rye bread – but nothing too bad.

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, bran
    • Yakault light
    • tall, skinny, triple-shot latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • 1 hard boiled egg
  • Lunch
    • cod and vegetable rogan josh with rice and avocado
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • apple and peanut butter
  • Dinner
    • chipotle steak, a very small baked sweet potato and butter, lots of green veggies, hard boiled duck egg
    • slice of rye and butter
    • yoghurt, whey, stevia chocolate and berries
  • Before bed
    • hot chocolate

 

Wednesday 4th June

Again, fasted cardio and silly kettlebell moves. All done before work this time so I can crash when I get home. Again, the food diary isn’t too horrendous – a mocha and a few peanut butter Oreos to pay penance for 😉

Training Log
  • HIIT (6am-ish, fasted):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 10 minutes intervals – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8, 1 minute rest; repeat! – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
  • kettlebell circuit using a 7.5kg kettlebell (all one armed):
    • clean and press x 10, 10, 10
    • rows x 10, 10, 10
    • snatch x 10, 10, 10
    • swings x 10, 10, 10
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, bran
    • Yakault light
    • tall, skinny, triple-shot mocha
    • banana
  • Snack
    • hard boiled duck egg
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • apple
  • Lunch
    • cod and vegetable rogan josh
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • cappuccino MyProtein protein chox bar
  • Dinner
    • Moroccan-spiced turkey and vegetables with roasted butternut squash and quinoa
    • yoghurt, berries, peanut butter, 3 peanut butter Oreos (oops)
  • Before bed
    • 2 squares dark chocolate

 

Thursday 5th June

OK here’s where it all goes wrong! I haven’t had a burger for 33 days and today, to celebrate the end of a tricky project at work, I went out with some colleagues to Shake Shack, which, when it first opened had queues around the block. I can’t say I was impressed with the fries (I tried someone elses), burgers or hot dogs – it was a bit like an expensive McDonald’s – but the peanut butter shake and the sticky toffee ‘concrete’ were fucking mindblowing!!

I felt so guilty that I came home and did some HIIT. That is not a good thing!!

Training Log
  • HIIT (in the evening, after eating all the food!!):
    • 5 minutes warm up, 20 minutes intervals – 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds gentle work x 8, 1 minute rest; repeat 3 more times! – 5 minutes cool down/stretch
Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, bran
    • Yakault light
    • skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • mini stroopwafel
  • Lunch
    • Moroccan-spice turkey and vegetables with roasted butternut squash and quinoa
    • liquorice and peppermint tea
  • Snack
    • instant coffee (yuck!) with semi-skimmed milk
    • mini stroopwafel
  • Dinner @ Shake Shack, Covent Garden
    • double ‘Smoke Shack’ cheeseburger and a hot dog
Shake Shack

Shake Shack – a bit like an expensive McDonalds. But the shakes…

    • peanut butter milkshake
    • sticky toffee ‘concrete’
Concrete

…and desserts were mind-blowing!

 

Friday 6th June

I decided not to get up at 5.45am to do cardio, especially as I’d done half an hour last night. I have continued where I left off on Thursday though and eaten my weight in crap.

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • 40g steel cut oats with 200ml hazelnut milk, 15g raisins, cinnamon, whole egg, honey, bran
    • Yakault light
    • tall, skinny, triple shot latte
  • Snack
    • tea with semi-skimmed milk
    • dark chocolate truffle
  • Lunch
    • Moroccan-spice turkey and vegetables with roasted butternut squash and quinoa
    • Little Miracles black tea
    • more dark chocolate…
  • Snack
    • liquorice and Oriental spices tea
    • 2 chocolate caramel digestives and 1 chocolate hobnob
    • mocha frappuccino light
  • Dinner
    • chicken balti and rice
    • Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup ice cream and peanut butter Oreos
Ben & Jerry's and Oreos

Ben & Jerry’s and Oreos. A peanut butter taste sensation!!

 

Saturday 7th June

Day before comp day and fuck it. I’ll eat whatever…

I had to travel to Hastings this afternoon as it would be impossible to get there on time by public transport on Sunday morning. I haven’t been to Hastings for years. Good to see it’s still a bit of a shit hole 😉

Food Diary
  • Breakfast
    • granola, yoghurt, whey, berries
    • 2 slices of rye bread, butter and mashed banana
    • hot cross bun and butter
    • Yakault light
    • Assam and skimmed milk
  • Snack
    • Assam and skimmed milk
    • 3 Oreos (the last of them!!)
  • Lunch
    • smoked mackerel salad with rye bread and butter
  • Snack
    • mocha cookie crumble frappuccino
  • Dinner
    • rump steak, king prawns, chips and salad
The night before the comp and I stuffed my face with rump steak, king prawns, chips, salad and bread...

The night before the comp and I stuffed my face with rump steak, king prawns, chips, salad and bread…

    • a shit load of bread
    • chocolate brownie McFlurry (a new low!!)
  • Before bed
    • 2 chocolate chip cookies
    • hot chocolate

 

Sunday 8th June

Comp day. Despite treating this as a bit of fun (because the weights just seemed a bit much!!) I woke up feeling really fucking nervous!

Woke up to this. OK, it's only Hastings, but I really do miss living by the sea sometimes!!

Woke up to this. OK, it’s only Hastings, but I really do miss living by the sea sometimes!!

We headed up to the gym for 8am so Tara could weigh in before breakfast (after her hard week of ‘dieting’ 😛 )

I weighed in at a whopping 65kg. Pants 😦 That’s 5kg I need to lose now!

Anyway, the comp was an emotional rollercoaster: I’d gone there knowing I would come last – I was up against two other people, my training partner and someone who trains at Zeus gym – but sitting second after two events (overhead and “deadlift”) meant I allowed myself to build my hopes up. When the third competitor beat me in the keg toss, Hussafel stone and van pull, my heart sank. I should’ve just kept a level head! GAH!

But I pulled it back with the Atlas stones. Something I never believed would be the event I won!!

So here you are, my videos.

Zeus’ Strongest Woman, u75kg
Event 1: Floor to Overhead – 10 reps in 60 seconds – second (by 1 rep!!)

 

Event 2: Car “deadlift” – 25 reps in 60 seconds – second (by 2 reps!!!)

 

Event 3: Keg toss – 2 of the motherfuckers in 60 seconds 😦 (last/third)

 

Event 4: Hussafel stone – about 85m in 60 seconds 😦 (last/third by about a mile – actually about 20m)

 

Event 5: Van pull – 21m in 31 seconds (last/third by about 4 seconds)

 

Event 6: Atlas stones – all 4 stones – 30kg, 40kg, 50kg and 60kg – in just over 11 seconds and I WON this event!!

 

There was a lovely little prize giving and we got medals. My first piece of silverware! Haha!

A Team Walsh 1 & 2 :-)

A Team Walsh 1 & 2 🙂

I know I only had to beat one person, but I'm bloody proud of myself for coming second. It was a tough comp!

I know I only had to beat one person, but I’m bloody proud of myself for coming second. It was a tough comp!

And of course, there had to be a feast afterwards. I can’t eat much during competitions, and even after the comp is over, I struggle to eat anything substantial. I managed to force myself to eat this at the Urban Diner in Richmond:

Post-comp din-dins. The Urban Diner in Richmond never disappoints.

Post-comp din-dins. The Urban Diner in Richmond never disappoints.

And then there was the obligatory frozen yoghurt (with Oreos and peanut M&Ms) from The Farmery. Felt so sick once I’d eaten all that! Ah well.

So that’s comp number four all over and done with. Next week I’ll be resting and trying out my new diet plan, and the week after that I’m going on holiday. I’ll spare you all the details and blog once I start training again, this time for my first Powerlifting competition on 26th July at Bethnal Green Weight Lifting Club.

I’m also going to stop subjecting you to my food diary as I’m going to be using MyFitnessPal for a few weeks. Feel free to have a look at that. My diary is public.

Speak in a few weeks 🙂

xx

2 comments

  1. lozette · · Reply

    Awesome work!! Well done you!

    1. Thanks my lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

