Der Schweiz and back to reality!

Switzerland was amazing: seven days of clean air and amazing views, but also, sadly, really fatty food! Everything I ate was either smothered in a creamy sauce or fried, and vegetables were almost impossible to get hold of. When I did manage to get my hands on a few salad leaves or a carrot, they were swimming in dressing or butter.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the occasional plate of chips or nicely-dressed salad, but this trip really messed with my stomach.

Ever since I had my gallbladder removed in 2008, I haven’t been able to tolerate fats nearly as well as I used to, and unfortunately I spent the majority of this trip bloated and uncomfortable :-(.

The rosti that finished me off!

The rosti that finished me off! Seriously, how is that a “sprinkling” of cheese?

That said, it didn’t stop me from stuffing my face with ice cream and chocolate! That didn’t exactly help!

Just some of the ice cream I scoffed, but not all...

Just some of the ice cream I scoffed, but not all…

Other than eat, The Boyfriend and I did quite a lot of touristy stuff. We stayed in a little town called Brienz, which was next to a massive lake (called Lake Brienz funnily enough!). The view from our hotel room was beautiful – this picture doesn’t do it justice!

View from our hotel. Not too shabby!

View from our hotel. Not too shabby!

I won’t bore you with all the details of every day, but I will pick out a few highlights. Feel free to skip on!

On our first proper day, we headed to the Brienzer Rothorn Bahnhof to catch the steam-powered cog train up a 2000m mountain. Sadly it was really cloudy at the top, so we didn’t get to witness the spectacular views of the lake and mountains. However, clearly delirious due to the break from work, I suggested walking down so we could enjoy the views once out of the clouds.

Not even half way! Man it was a killer!

Not even half way! Man it was a killer!

Thankfully, there’s a halfway point where you can get food because, after 2 and a half hours of walking down steep, loose-gravelled, narrow mountain paths (and not exactly being seasoned hikers let alone mountaineers!) our feet and knees hurt, and I was hungry.

Bratwurst, onion sauce and rosti. Not a green vegetable in sight!

Bratwurst, onion sauce and rosti. Not a green vegetable in sight!

My holiday delirium knew no bounds that day because, despite the train stopping at the half way point, I insisted that we walk the rest of the way! I regretted it almost immediately as I was faced with even steeper, narrower paths through a forest with SHEER DROPS! Anyway, after 5 hours (total) of walking, we eventually made it back to our hotel, where we proceeded to crash.

We headed to Bern, the capital, the next day, which wasn’t nearly as adventurous as the previous day. Bern is a really beautiful place, but I can’t quite believe it’s the capital, despite the Parliament buildings etc. It’s the size of Canterbury!

Bern (clockwise to middle): Parliament, Clock Tower, National Bank, Munster, Klee sculpture

Bern (clockwise to middle): Parliament, Zytglogge, National Bank, Burner Munster, Klee sculpture

The following days were filled with waterfalls:

Waterfalls (l-r): Trummelbach Falls; Reichenbach Falls

Waterfalls (l-r): Trummelbach Falls; Reichenbach Falls

And mountains:

Mountain views (top to bottom): from Murren; from Jungfraujoch; from Rothorn

Mountain views (top to bottom): from Murren; from Jungfraujoch; from Rothorn

It was so good to get away, and I was really sad to leave, but I’m glad to be home now to the gym and healthy food, although it also means I’m back on the fat loss plan which isn’t much fun.

And back on the wagon

And back on the wagon!

That’s the holiday slide show over now! You can start reading again…back to training.

Training hasn’t been particularly inspiring this week as I decided to have a “reload” week before I get the programme from my online coach.

Tuesday 24 June

Today was a bonus day off work because I didn’t want to go back in a foul mood if my flight had been delayed etc. It hadn’t been, but that wasn’t going to stop me from still taking the day off.

I took the plunge and stepped on the scales this morning, to see what the damage was. 64.5kg. Amazingly, only a 700g gain. Still, I feel incredibly uncomfortable and I want to minimise the pre-comp stress as much as possible by losing some fat.

To kick-start the fat loss, I did half an hour of sprint intervals on the spin bike. Man I’ve missed those… Yes, I know that cardio isn’t the be-all-and-end-all of fat loss, but it made me feel a bit better about the Jungfrau-high mountain of chocolate and ice cream I’d eaten over the last seven days. Judge me!

Not content with just cardio, later in the day I started getting restless about lifting, so decided to go and squat. It wasn’t brilliant, but hey ho!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 30kg x 8
    • 40kg x 8
    • 50kg x 8
    • 60kg x 8
  • Romanian deadlifts:
    • 50kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Step-ups:
    • 12kg KB, 17” x 12, 12, 12

Wednesday 25 June

First day back at work! Ah the sadness :-(. What better way to make myself feel better than to bench press. Oh I love bench press. I really, really do! Honest!!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 25kg x 8
    • 30kg x 8
    • 35kg x 8
    • 40kg x 8
  • Decline close-grip bench press:
    • 35kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Incline dumbbell bench press:
    • 25lb x 8, 8, 8

Thursday 26 June

I got up nice and early to sit on the spin bike for half an hour again this morning. Have I told you how much I love cardio? It’s almost as much as I love bench pressing!

Once I got home from work, I bounced into the gym to deadlift.

  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 65kg x 8
    • 70kg x 8
    • 75kg x 8
    • 80kg x 8
  • Yates rows:
    • 50kg x 8, 8, 8
  • Lat pulldowns
    • +30kg x 8
    • +32.5kg x 8, 8

Friday 27 June

Rest day. Not that I really deserve one, but hey! I’m saving myself for the monster programme that’s coming my way!!

Saturday 28 June

Tara and I headed to Uniq Physique gym in Haslemere to join a few others at a training session with Britain’s Strongest Woman (u75kg) Meg Robson.

It was tough going. I’ve got bruises (shock) and I feel sore. Fuck knows how bad I’m going to feel tomorrow!

This is what we got up to:

  •  Trap bar deadlifts from 18″ blocks:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 80kg x 8
    • 100kg x 5
    • 120kg x 3
    • 130kg x 1
    • 140kg x 1
    • 150kg x 1
    • 160kg x 1 WOOHOO!!!
  • 1-arm dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 15kg x 5 (both left and right)
    • 20kg x 1, 2 (both left and right)
    • 22.5kg x 1 (both left and right)
    • 25kg x 1 (right only)
    • 27.5kg FAIL but almost!!
  • Conan’s wheel:
    • Never done this before! 100kg and I did 1 full rotation first go, then only managed 1.5 and 1.75 rotations on the following attempts. This was not good 😦 Tara managed 3.5!! Damn her! 😉
  • Tyre flips and prowler pull:
    • 6 flips of an 80kg tyre to warm up then…
    • flip tyre from one end of ‘course’ to the other (about 6 flips I think) then sit in it and pull a 100kg prowler. I did this in 52.5 seconds. Not too bad. Was only beaten by the bloke and Meg.

So I’ll be having a rest day tomorrow as I’m already starting to hurt and stiffen up, plus I’m starting my new programme on Monday. I can’t wait to get started. It’s going to be horrible but it’s going to be fucking brilliant. Here’s to PBs and general awesomeness (I hope!)

To end, here’s one of my favourite pictures from my holiday. Speak next week xx

How can you be unhappy if you get to see this every day?

How can you be unhappy if you get to see this every day?

Leave a Reply

