The new programme of DOMS!

Ah, what a week. 

I don’t have anything to follow that up with. Sorry. I was trying to make everything sound exciting…

This week has been long and tiring, and I think I need to start taking ZMA again to help me with my sleep. 

I won’t bang on about nothing. Here’s training:

Sunday 29 June

Rest day. I am seriously fucked. My mid- and lower back are so tight and sore. Doing anything but sitting on my ever-expanding backside was totally unthinkable!

Here’s a picture from Switzerland to distract you from my lameness…

Look at the prettiness...!

Look at the prettiness…!

Monday 30 June

Today was the first day of my new programme, created by Strongman and Powerlifting coach Matt Griffiths. It was meant to be squats, but I still couldn’t move properly after Saturday’s session with Meg, so I decided to bench instead.

Ideally, I should’ve been following a peak cycle for the comp on 26th July (my first Powerlifting comp at Bethnal Green Weight Lifting Club), but I failed to tell Matt about that because I’m an idiot. He’s going to sort that out for me…

Anyway, I made a start on the “off-season” mescocycle he sent me:

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 37.5kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Close-grip bench press:
    • 35kg x 3 (x 8 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pressdowns and band kickbacks (superset) – this was problematic as I don’t have bands at home. So I used the cable but couldn’t for the life of me get the weight right, and I ended up using a 4.5kg dumbbell for the kickbacks. All reps – there should be 12 reps per set! – were done with a 2 second pause at lockout:
    • Pressdowns:
      • +10kg added to the stack (no idea how much this weighs!) x 7, followed by +7.5kg x 5
      • +7.5kg x 4, followed by +5kg x 8
      • +5kg x 12 (x 2 sets)
    • Kickbacks:
      • +0kg added to the stack x 12
      • +0kg x 12
      • +0kg x 7 followed by 4.5kg (dumbbell) x 5 on the right arm; 4.5kg x 12 on the left arm
      • 4.5kg x 12
  • Shrugs – I used dumbbells. I won’t in future!
    • 50lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Tuesday 1 July

I came home to a parcel that contained these:

Swag!!

Swag!! These will help my arse grow even bigger!!

Not exactly a diet-friendly snack but when I realised these existed (rather than just the peanut butter cream ones I’ve already seen off) I had to order them! Roll on Saturday when I can try one…or two (or the whole packet!!)

I tackled the squats I should’ve done yesterday despite still feeling the effects of Saturday. My back didn’t hurt nearly as much as it did but I was still a bit still.

The squats actually helped, although I expect I’ll be a bit broken in the morning. This workout really hurt! Haha!

  • Speed squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 10
    • 42.5kg x 10 (x 3 sets)
  • No lockout squats:
    • 42.5kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
  • Bulgarian split squats:
    • 10kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • V-bar pulldowns:
    • #5 (no idea what weight that is!!) x 8
    • #7 (again, no idea!!) x 8 (x 2 sets)
  • Pendlay rows:
    • 50kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Standing calf raises:
    • 43kg x 15 (x 3 sets)

Wednesday 2 July

Yep. I hurt. The quad DOMS has almost caused tears during the day. Oh well, no rest for the wicked: there’s overhead work to do!

As if the triceps hadn’t taken enough of a thrashing on Monday, they were in for a treat with this workout!!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 5
    • 30kg x 4
    • 32.5kg x 2 (x 8 sets)
  • 1-arm dumbbell press:
    • 30lb x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • 1-arm triceps extension:
    • 10lb x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • Dumbbell skull crushers (with dead stop)
    • 10lb x 8 (x 2 sets)

Thursday 3 July

Another parcel was waiting for me when I got home today. This time there contents were a bit more diet-friendly: Quest bars and Nuts ‘n’ More nut butters.

SWAG!!

SWAG!!

The quad DOMS was at its peak today, so of course that meant they needed more punishment. On the cards today, fairly heavy deadlifts followed by front squats. Whoop! I’m working off a deadlift 1RM of 110kg as anything heavier than that, my tailbone tucks under and there’s more danger of hitching.

  •  Deadlifts:
    • 50kg x 5
    • 70kg x 5
    • 80kg x 5
    • 90kg x 5 (x 2 sets)
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 55kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Snatch-grip deadlifts:
    • 70kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Glute ham raises (OMFG! The pressure on my quads from the station pad! I wanted to throw up!)
    • 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Hip thrusts:
    • 80kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Pulldowns:
    • #6 (???) x 8 (x 3 sets)

Friday 4 July

Will this week ever end? I am exhausted. My legs hurt. I want to eat everything in sight! ARGH!!

That said, being the sanctimonious, smug git that I am, I didn’t eat any of the mountain of treats at work today (or the whole week come to think of it! How are my colleagues not huge?!?!) Saturday is weigh in day and I didn’t want to jeopardise the chance of a lower number on the scales.

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 10
    • 30kg x 10
    • 35kg x 17
  • Close grip bench press:
    • 30kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Dips:
    • 12 (x 3 sets)
  • Cable pressdowns with 2 second pause at lockout:
    • +5kg (??) x 12 (x 2 sets)

Saturday 5 July

Rest day. And I must admit, I feel like I need it. The fact I slept for 11 hours shows just how fucking tired I am! I never sleep that long.

Weigh in was not good: I’ve put on 200g. Now, I know that’s not much of a weight gain but it means I’m 700g heavier than my target for this week. So now I need to lose 2kg in 3 weeks. Gutted.

Despite the poor weigh in (or is that in spite of the poor weigh in?) I ate a ridiculous amount of food (all of it good in taste but bad in nutritional value!) and I hung out with this little dude and my knitting friends.

Hanging out with my favourite 4 month old, Hadyn

Hanging out with my favourite 4 month old, Hadyn

No knitting took place and my jumper is still no closer to being finished. Ah well.

Yes I did try the Oreos and they were AMAZING!!!!

So next week, I start a peak cycle in readiness for my first powerlifting competition in 3 weeks’ time. I really must work out what my opening lifts are going to be…

Until next week! xx

Leave a Reply

