Yet another dull post. Sorry!

This week’s post really is going to be minimalist. Other than training, I’ve done absolutely nothing. My new programme, which is incredibly high in volume, has knackered me out a bit!!

Sunday 6 July

My new programme says I should do overhead pressing on a Wednesday, but it suits me more to do it on a Sunday. I’m meant to also do log cleans and presses on events day (which is Saturday) but I think it’s best placed here. I’m sure my coach would have something to say about this though…

Anyway, the training buddies were running late, so I started without them with the military press. Last week, I did 32.5kg for my 8 sets of 2 and only just managed to grind those out. This week, I feel a bit weaker from trying to cut weight so I thought I’d take it down to 30kg instead. Yes, it was easier than the 32.5kg was, but I still struggled!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 5, 2, 2
    • 30kg x 3 (x 8 sets)
  • Log:
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 37.5kg x 2
    • 40kg x 1
    • 45kg FAIL 😦
    • 42.5kg FAIL 😦
  • 1-arm DB press:
    • 12.5kg x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • 1-arm triceps extension:
    • 5kg x 12
    • 6kg x 12
  • DB skullcrushers:
    • 5kg x 8
    • 6kg x 8
  • Standing abs:
    • 30lb x 8 (x 3 sets)

Monday 7 July

As you know, I sometimes go to Bethnal Green Weight Lifting Club on a Monday evening. I headed up there today to follow my programme. Things ended up going a bit off piste (sorry Matt! I am committed, honest!) as I had the opportunity to have my deadlift form looked at. So things got moved around. Again.

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 3
    • 50kg x 3
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 75kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Deadlift:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 2
    • 100kg x 1
    • 110kg x 1
  • Deficit deadlifts:
    • 100kg x 1 (x 4 sets)
  • Chin ups:
    • 4, 3, 2
  • Prone DB row:
    • 10kg x 12 (x 3 sets)
  • Glute ham raises:
    • +10kg x 10 (x 3 sets)

Tuesday 8 July

I felt really tired during this workout and I’m not convinced I did my best. Still, I’m happy with my 3 sets of 3 reps at 45kg. Hopefully this means a bench PB at the comp…

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 3 sets)
    • 30kg x 3
    • 35kg x 3
    • 40kg x 3
    • 45kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Close-grip bench:
    • 37.5kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • SUPERSET – pushdowns/kickbacks; 2 second pause at lockout:
    • 15kg x 12 (x 4 sets)
    • 4.5kg x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Barbell shrugs:
    • 80kg x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 9 July

Rest day and I’m so glad I moved tonight’s workout to Sunday, because I just need to crash!! Cutting and preparing for a comp really isn’t a fun combination 😦

Thursday 10 July

Today should’ve been deadlift day, but as I did them on Monday, I thought I’d better make up for the exercises I missed then. Front squats did not go well. Everything felt really fucking heavy and my left wrist gave out as I went to re-rack the bar after the final rep of my final set. Yes, the bar crashed to the floor, causing a scene and much embarrassment…

  • Pause squats:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 55kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Glute ham raises:
    • 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Calf raises:
    • 43kg x 12 (x 3 sets)
  • Pull downs:
    • 60lb x 8
    • 70lb x 8 (x 2 sets)

Friday 11 July

It’s been a long week, and finally Friday’s here! But no crashing on the sofa is allowed…time for paused bench. Whoop!

As if that wasn’t enough to fill me with joy, these gorgeous things were waiting for me…

Neon DC hi-tops! They make me smile :-)

Neon DC hi-tops! They make me smile 🙂

  • Pause bench:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 37.5kg x 5
    • 42.5kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Close-grip bench:
    • 35kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Dips (off a bench):
    • 12 (x 3 sets)
  • Cable pushdowns; 2 second pause at lockout:
    • +7.5kg x 12 )x 2 sets)

Saturday 12 July

I haven’t been to Super-Girl training for what feels like a fucking age, and I really felt it during that hour. I did, however, totally boss the huge motherfucking tyre. Trying to flip it when it’s dry is definitely easier than when it’s wet! Haha! Today’s session involved 3 rounds of 30 seconds work, 40 seconds rest (while your partner uses the apparatus and you move to the next station), and a 2 minute rest between sets using:

  • Sled drag
  • Kettlebell shoulder press
  • Tyre flip
  • Farmer’s walk
  • Battle ropes
  • Prowler push

Ben, over the last few months, has ended the session with a medley – which is fucking nasty! Tyre flips, farmer’s, prowler and sled. I made sure I went first to get as much rest time as possible before the cycle home.

Unsurprisingly, I was ravenous for the rest of the day, which makes a change as my appetite has been pretty much non-existent recently. Good job Saturday is cheat day! Woohoo!

Sorry for yet another dull post. I really must think of something more exciting to say…

I’ll try next week. Promise…

Leave a Reply

