Powerlifting comp #1: t-minus 1 week!

I promised you a more interesting blog post this week, but alas it looks like I’m going to fail.

What with work and training 6 days a week, I don’t feel like I have much time to do anything exciting every week. I’m getting on! I need my rest time!!

This week is my last proper week of training before my first Powerlifting competition – London Clubs at Bethnal Green Weight Lifting Club at 10am on Saturday 26 July.

I’ve established what my opening lifts are going to be and I should be able to reach the qualifying total I need for the British Classic in September. 

Anyway, here’s my week in training. Sorry I’m so boring 😉

Sunday 13 July

Today was the first day of a 2-day trial water load/cut. 5l of water was consumed, and I spent a lot of my day peeing. It wasn’t fun!! But hey, if it means I can lose a bit of water weight before a comp without knackering myself out on the spin bike, then that’s a good thing, right?

I trained at home instead of heading to Physical Culture. But I met up with one of the training buddies for coffee and frozen yoghurt in the afternoon. Of course, the rest of the day was spent meal prepping for the week. Thrilling!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 6
    • 22.5kg 5
    • 25kg x 5
    • 27.5kg x 2 (x 8 sets – light and explosive)
  • 1-arm dumbbell press:
    • 25lb x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • 1-arm dumbbell triceps extension:
    • 10lb x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • Dumbbell skullcrushers:
    • 10lb x 8 (x 2)
  • Technique squats:
    • 22.5kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5 (x 3 sets)

Monday 14 July

Dy 2 of the trial water load/cut. By 11am, I’d drunk 3l of water and wasn’t feeling so great. I felt sick and dizzy. I looked washed out. Clearly my salt levels were screwed! 😦 I really don’t think this method is for me.

I went up to Bethnal Green today for the last time before the competition. Today was heavy squats, and I’m bloody happy that I got 85kg with good depth. Hopefully, I’ll be able to replicate that on the 26th!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 1
    • 75kg x 1
    • 80kg x 1
    • 85kg x 1
    • 60kg x 3 (x 5 sets – paused speed squats)
  • Pull downs with V-bar:
    • 40kg x 8
    • 45kg x 8 (x 2 sets)
  • Pendlay rows:
    • 40kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Dumbbell seated calf raises:
    • 50kg x 15 (x 3 sets)

Tuesday 15 July

Well, the water cut kind of worked – I lost 0.5kg. Could be enough… Let’s see what the situation is at the beginning of next week…

Training at home today and trying out my bench. I need to work on the bar path because 50kg would’ve been much easier and I probably would’ve got the 52.5kg if I wasn’t all over the place. I’ve also got to remember not to re-rack the bar until I’m told to. How nasty would it be to get the lift but fuck up because you forgot to wait for instructions!!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 45kg x 1
    • 47.5kg x 1
    • 50kg x 1
    • 52.5kg x FAIL 😦
  • Close grip bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 3
    • 37.5kg x 3 (x 4 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • SUPERSET: pushdowns/kickbacks:
    • +5kg x 12 (x 4 sets)
    • 4.5kg x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Shrugs – trap bar:
    • 80kg x 5 (x 2 sets)
    • 60kg x 5 (x 3 sets)

Wednesday 16 July

And I put all that water weight back on, and some! Fuck it! 😦

Ah, my one rest day. I spent the evening baking a vegan chocolate cake with a vegan peanut butter icing, which was actually quite stressful. I don’t care what vegan bloggers say, coconut cream DOES NOT whip up anything like cream. I had to construct the cake at work because the icing just melted 😦

I completely forgot to take a picture of it, but it looked a bit of a mess. Luckily, it tasted bloody gorgeous and my work colleagues are particularly fussy about looks!!

Thursday 17 July

My nemesis. I know I talk myself out of a lot of deadlift stuff. But then, I’m not happy at all with my form, so it’s sensible that I consider 110kg my 1RM (and that was UGLY!). I would love to get 120kg (with good form – well, better than the Strongman form I used at Britain’s Strongest Woman) on the 26th, but I really struggle getting the fucking thing off the floor and I risk hurting myself if I go too heavy!

  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 3
    • 100kg x 1 (x 5 sets)
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 55kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • GHR:
    • 5 (x 5 sets)
  • “SUPERSET”: pull ups and pull downs – as many pull ups as I can; topped up with pulldowns:
    • 2, 2, 1
    • 60lb x 6, 6, 7
I can't remember the last time I had Nando's. I'm sure it's not as long as it seems but it was oh so good!!

I can’t remember the last time I had Nando’s. I’m sure it’s not as long as it seems but it was oh so good!!

Friday 18 July

Today was the hottest day of the year so far. I really don’t cope with anything over 23ºC very well, so 32ºC felt like hell! I was at a workshop in the morning and couldn’t face the tube, which is always so bloody hot on the coldest days. I decided to walk back to work, which would take me an hour. Oh how I regretted that! I was dripping with sweat and felt like shit all afternoon. The train journey home almost killed me and I think I probably lost this week’s half a kilo just in sweat during that 25 minutes!

I finally got home and had to lift. This session was fucking nasty. Not even pre-workout could give me the kick up the arse I needed. I ended up having to lower the weight I was lifting. I’m lame!!

  • Pause bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3 (x 5 sets)
  • Close grip bench press:
    • 32.5kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Bench dips:
    • 12 (x 3 sets)
  • Pushdowns:
    • +5kg x 12 (x 2 sets)

Saturday 19 July

I weighed in at 62.6kg, which is good! Let’s hope the amount of shit I’ve eaten today hasn’t buggered everything up completely.

Modified Strongman Training:

Today, it was 30 seconds work, 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds rest using the following apparatus:

  • 25kg log – I viper pressed it instead as this was really light.
  • Tyre flip – I did the first round with the small 80kg tyre, but the second round I used the big fuck-off MOFO tyre!
  • 40kg Farmer’s walk
  • Sled drag
  • Battle ropes
  • Prowler push

This, plus cycling to and from Barnes (5.5 miles) left me ravenous! Good job I was off to the seaside with some friends, where cake…

Jenny's cakey masterpiece!!

Jenny’s cakey masterpiece!!

…and Japanese food would be in abundance!

Teriyaki Salmon set meal and soft-shell crab tempura #whatdiet?

Teriyaki Salmon set meal and soft-shell crab tempura #whatdiet?

And of course, you can’t go to the seaside without having ice cream!!

Matcha green tea ice cream! So gorgeous!!

Matcha green tea ice cream! So gorgeous!!

The Ladies having a paddle

The Ladies having a paddle

It’s safe to say, the diet went out the window today. I’m really nervous about weighing in, as usual, and I can’t help but think that I’ll be spending my Friday evening in full sweats, with the heating on, pedalling like an idiot on the spin bike to try and lose a few hundred grams. I hate my body!! lol

So that’s it then. I’m off to do very little for the next few days and then, hopefully, smash some PBs by this time next week.

Leave a Reply

