Where I travel to Brum for some deadlifts and a 1000kcal flapjack!

This week, the peak cycle starts! This means lots of heavy sets and probably some tears! I’ve got quite lofty ambitions for the British Classic on 20 September – which may not be entirely realistic – but I’m going to work my arse off to get as close as I can!

I seem to be managing my weight quite well too so hopefully there won’t be any need to completely fuck myself over the week before the comp. It would be awesome if I could have a proper meal the night before! Maybe even take a leaf out of Tara’s book and eat ice cream!!

Here’s Week One of the peak cycle, which includes a trip to Birmingham for deadlifts and 1000kcal (?!) flapjacks…

Monday 18 August

My hip flexors have been utter cunts recently, and were the reason I had to take an unplanned rest week last week. I was quite apprehensive about squatting again just in case everything went to pot! Luckily, it went OK, but I only did one set at the top end of my target range (my aim: 6 sets of 3 at 80-87.5% of my 1RM, so 72.5-77.5kg).

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 3
    • 60kg x 3
    • 72.5kg x 3
    • 75kg x 3 (x 4 sets)
    • 77.5kg x 3
  • Pause squats:
    • 62.5kg x 3 (x 3)
  • Glute ham raises:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverted rows:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Clams:
    • 10 (x 4)

Tuesday 19 August

Amazon have been real pains in the arse recently: they have struggled to deliver anything, even when I’ve been at home!! I thought I’d try to avoid it by getting a few physio tools delivered to work. Again, they seem to have trouble!! GAH! Just deliver the fucking thing!!

Eventually, this tool of torture arrived…

Ouch!

Ouch!

…and I thought my hamstring problems were over. Except I used it too much and bruised them. Idiot.

Anyway, bench day! Woohoo! (or not…)

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 45kg x 3 (x 8 reps)
  • Close grip bench press:
    • 35kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Triceps extension:
    • purple band: 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pushdowns – 2 second pause at lockout:
    • red band x 12 (x 4)
  • Dumbbell shrug:
    • 40lb x 10 (x 4 sets)

I was feeling pretty sore and tired, so I had plenty of carbs and protein post-workout.

Carbs bitches!!

Tuna steak with mango salsa, roasted veggies, jacket potato and cottage cheese. Carbs bitches!!

Wednesday 20 August

Another day, another piece of plastic to torture myself with. This time, the PhiStick.

Ooo-err missus

Looks a bit dodgy!

Anyway, today was a rest day, which is unusual for a Wednesday. But hell, I’m enjoying it!

Thursday 21 August

I took a few hours off work today to head to my coach’s (Matt) gym just outside Birmingham to train deadlifts and eat 1000kcal flapjacks. I’m not sure if the flapjack was actually 1000kcal, but Matt takes pride in his flapjacks’ potency!

  • Deadlifts:
    • 20kg x 6
    • 40kg x 3
    • 60kg x 3
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 3
    • 100 x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 3
    • 50kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Side lunges:
    • +10kg x 10 (x 3)
  • Glute ham raises:
    • 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverted band rows / low band row:
    • 12 / 8 (x 4 sets)

Matt was happy with my deadlifts – the words ‘that’s a good deadlift’ were actually spoken. And they felt good too. I probably could’ve done more than 100kg, but there are plenty of opportunities to lift heavier coming up over the next couple of weeks.

Friday 22 August

I didn’t get home until well past 10pm on Thursday evening, so I decided to work from home on Friday so I could have a couple of hours more sleep! It also meant I got to have a different breakfast. I usually have homemade Bircher muesli / overnight oats (I’ll post a recipe at some point) but I wanted something different. Behold! the return of the sweet omelette!

Sweet omelette for breakfast. #yum

Sweet omelette for breakfast. #yum

Sweet omelette:

  • 3 whole eggs
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 10g chocolate flavour casein powder
  • 50g 0% fat cottage cheese

On top:

  • 50g 0% fat Greek yoghurt
  • 10g chocolate peanut butter
  • a mountain of berries

531kcal / 28g carbs / 24g fat / 47g protein

 

The other great thing about working from home is that I can lift at lunch time! It being Friday, it is bench day. Bench with BANDS day!! 😦 Man, they’re nasty!!

  • Bench press – against red bands (about +10kg resistance):
    • 20kg (no bands) x 10
    • 20kg x 5
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Dips:
    • 12
    • 10
    • 8
    • 6
    • 4
  • Dumbbell flyes:
    • 15lb x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pushdowns / band kickbacks:
    • red band / yellow band x 12/12 (x 4 sets)

It’s been ages since the training buddies and I have gone out for dinner, so we caught up over Japanese food. I’m a bit skint at the moment, so didn’t want to spend a fortune. Unfortunately, I didn’t read the menu properly and ended up ordering the most expensive thing: a tiny piece of gloopy Miso-glazed cod:

£23 for the tiny piece of cod?! What the fuck? I should've paid more attention to the menu when I ordered!!!

£23 for the tiny piece of cod?! What the fuck? I should’ve paid more attention to the menu when I ordered!!!

And, of course, being very British, I couldn’t tell the waiter that I didn’t think the was up to standard! Oh well.

It was all made better by salted caramel fro-yo with a mountain of chocolate. I was so excited, I forgot to take a photo.

Saturday 23 August

Day 5 of training this week. Once this session was over, I’d be off to Wahaca for dinner and then the theatre to watch The Crucible.

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 22.5kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Snatch grip high pull:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 2
    • 50kg x 2 (x 8 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 2
    • 75kg x 2
    • 80kg x 2
    • 82.5kg x 2
    • 85kg x 2
  • Bodyweight squats w/ bands around my knees:
    • blue band x 8 (x 4 sets)

I didn’t bother with a Wahaca photo – I had steak. Nothing exciting. But we finished with loads of time to spare, so took a walk up to the South Bank where Snog have got a fro-yo bus. THEY HAD PEANUT BUTTER FLAVOURED FRO-YO!!

Snog do peanut butter fro-yo! Fuck yes!!!

Snog do peanut butter fro-yo! Fuck yes!!!

The play was really good too. There were a lot of women there swooning over Richard Armitage, bless ’em. I’ve really enjoyed going to the theatre recently. If only A Streetcar Named Desire wasn’t so fucking expensive! (OK, apparently there are cheap tickets available on the day, but unfortunately I can’t get there to try and get them 😦 £150 for a standard ticket **sobs**)

Back to 6 days of training next week. Squats are getting scary.

Leave a Reply

