Deadlift progress, stupid training decisions and fucking awful commercial gyms!

This week has had a number of training lows and one big training high! I’m really starting to believe that I might do well in the deadlift at the British in THREE WEEKS’ TIME!! Still not wholly convinced that my bench or squat are going to be particularly good though. As lofty as my ambitions are, I know that really I should just aim to beat the 245kg I got in July and be happy with that. But, I’m not programmed like that. I WANT MORE!!!!!

Monday 25 August

Today, I was meant to be pulling a Boeing 737 as part of a team of 20 women, but it got cancelled yesterday because of a Met Office yellow weather warning.

If the weather in London was anything to go by, then I’m bloody glad it was. It was miserable here. I even regretted leaving the flat to train in Putney.

Training with other people has its perks, but sometimes I find myself doing stuff that I probably shouldn’t do. Easily led? Me?!?! I definitely shouldn’t have done three sets at 82.5kg. The first two weren’t brilliant, but they were passable. I knew the third would be a struggle and I should’ve taken the weight back to 80kg. Oh well. Done now and lesson learnt!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 4
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 3
    • 75kg x 3
    • 80kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 82.5kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Box squats:
    • 72.5kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Romanian deadlift:
    • 50kg x 8
    • 60kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • V-bar pulldowns:
    • #6 x 12, 10, 8
    • #7 x 6, 4
  • Clams:
    • 12 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 26 August

I had originally planned to have this day off work to recover from the plane pull, but seeing as though I didn’t actually pull a plane and annual leave is in short supply (I’ve got 3 weeks booked in March when I’m hoping to go back to Japan…), I cancelled it. The moment my alarm went off, I regretted it! And that’s pretty much the theme for the week!!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 47.5kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
    • 46kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 30lb x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Band triceps extension / band kickbacks:
    • red band / yellow band x 12 /12 (x 2 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 45lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 27 August

I popped into the Fitness First near work on my way home yesterday to have a look at the equipment. Training six days a week can be a bit of a chore, and sometimes I don’t want to train when I get home. I thought, as there’s a gym within spitting distance of work, I could use it at lunchtime and get the session out of the way so when I get home, I can just face plant the sofa.

I tried this today. At 2pm, I stood in front of one of the many million mirrors at one of two racks in a dimly lit room preparing myself to push press. Behind me was a guy “deadlifting” 60kg using a mixed snatch grip who was in danger of hurting himself. Three sets in to my workout, and the bar was still behind me but the bloke had disappeared. OK…

Then, with 40kg above my head, some wanker clipped my bar as he faffed around at the rack beside me. I have since come up with many things to say to him, but at the time all I could think of was “HEEEEEEEY!!!” coupled with a look of death!

I put my stuff away because, y’know, I know how to behave in public, and moved over to the dumbbells, where a guy doing about 15 different biceps exercises insisted on posing in the mirror directly in front of me.

gym-ettiquette

And then there was the second of two people deadlifting whose form was so bad at 60kg that when he put the weight up to 140kg, I actually felt like crying. I really wanted to say something, but I feel incredibly uncomfortable telling anyone, particularly men, that their form sucks. I don’t have enough confidence in my own deadlifting ability to consider myself qualified to comment on others’ form!!

All this shit happened while at least two PTs were stood “training” people. This gym might be convenient, but it was fucking awful!

Despite all these distractions, I managed to get my workout done in 45 minutes.

  • Push press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 3
    • 35kg x 3
    • 37.5kg x 3
    • 40kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 37.5kg x 3
  • Seated dumbbell press:
    • 10kg x 8
    • 12kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Front raises:
    • 4kg x 10
    • 6kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
  • Windscreen wipers:
    • 20 (x 2 sets)

Thursday 28 August

Tara ditched me, so I had to deadlift on my own at home. Usually, I struggle in my home gym: it’s where I’ve failed to get 100kg off the floor more often than not. But today, I did a set of three at 107.5kg which was smooth and so comfortable! Frankly, if I can’t get 110kg off the floor first time at the comp, then I’m chucking myself under a bus!!

  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 5
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 3
    • 102.5kg x 3
    • 105kg x 3
    • 107.5kg x 3
  • Power cleans:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 2
    • 45kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Front squats:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 45kg x 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Pull throughs:
    • +10kg x 10
    • +20kg x 10 (x 3 sets)
  • Inverse band rows / low band rows:
    • green bands / blue band: 12 / 8 (x 4 sets)

Friday 29 August

Friday at last. Just work and a bench press session between me and face planting the sofa. It was a long day…

  • Bench press (with red bands):
    • 20kg x 10 (no bands)
    • 20kg x 5
    • 30kg x 5
    • 35kg x 3
    • 40kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 25lb x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Close grip bench press:
    • 35kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Face pulls:
    • +10kg x 15 (x 5 sets)

Saturday 30 August

Stupid training decision #2: do an hour-long modified strongman training session and then, three hours later, try to do a moderately heavy (like, 80-85% of your 1RM) squat session. If any of those squats were actually deep enough, then I’m a unicorn.

fat-unicorn

Anyway, I don’t think I should get any credit for this workout, but here it is:

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 3 sets)
  • Snatch grip high pulls:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 72.5kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 75kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 72.5kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
  • Bodyweight squats with blue band around my knees:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)

So yeah, no more modified strongman training before the British; no more getting swept along by my ego. From now on, I have to listen to my body and not do anything stupid! Those lofty ambitions will never be realised if I keep doing stupid stuff!!

Leave a Reply

