PEAK WEEK!!

I absolutely cannot wait for this competition to be over. I have pushed myself so much since the last comp – it’s paying off, mostly! – and I am fucking exhausted. My body feels like lead; my joints are all stiff; my desire to train has abandoned me! I’ve been promised that the rest days I have next week will see me right for the comp. I hope to fuck Matt’s right! Haha!

cute_unicorn_sleeping_by_sora_no_tsubasa-d77pm73

Monday 8 September

I wasn’t looking forward to this: I have such little confidence in my squat that the last thing I wanted to do was go for a max double. It was meant to be a paused double, which I completely forgot about, probably because I was so fucking scared. This session did highlight that I need to be a little more conservative with my desired opening squat, just for the sake of my confidence. Bugger 😦

87.5kg squat. I'm petrified that my depth isn't good enough.

87.5kg squat. I’m petrified that my depth isn’t good enough. Sadly, this photo doesn’t help!!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 2
    • 80kg x 2
    • 85kg x 2
    • 87.5kg x 1
  • Box squats:
    • 60kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverted row:
    • 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Clams with a band around my knees:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 9 September

I was quite excited about this training session. After last week’s success with bench, I wanted to see how far I could go. Those 52.5kg reps were easy. I got 55kg easily enough, and the first rep of 57.5kg was pretty good. Sadly, I abandoned rep number two after a bit of a wobble and I lost my confidence. Let’s hope this means I’m on for a 60kg bench at the comp…

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 45kg x 2
    • 50kg x 2
    • 52.5kg x 2
    • 55kg x 2
    • 57.5kg x 1
  • Close-grip bench press:
    • 40kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 45lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 10 September

Weight update: 62.6kg. WTF?! How?!?! So pissed off. It’s a rest day though, so I can cry into my pillow when I get home from work…

These arrived, so I’ll get to try them out tomorrow.

It might only be 0.25", but it makes all the difference!

It might only be 0.25″, but it makes all the difference! And check out my sexy monkey socks!! Hubba hubba!

Thursday 11 September

Max doubles deadlifts this evening. Everything felt heavy and I was convinced I wasn’t going to get anywhere near the 115kg I did last week, let alone beat it. I did though. Somehow, I managed to get 125kg off the floor twice. I’m still not 100% happy with my form, but it wasn’t any worse this week than it was last week. So I guess that’s not awful!!

125kg deadlift (for 2!!) Still don't like the way my form looks :-(

125kg deadlift (for 2!!) Still don’t like the way my form looks 😦

  • Deadlift:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 3
    • 100kg x 2
    • 110kg x 2
    • 120kg x 2
    • 125kg x 2
  • Rack squats:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Side lunges:
    • 10kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Bent over dumbbell rows / seated cable rows:
    • 7.5kg (per hand – mis-read the label! I thought they were 15kg!!) / 70lb x 12 / 8
    • 15kg / 70lb x 12 / 8 (x 3 sets)

Friday 12 September

It’s become a bit of a theme that the update for Friday involves the word exhausted. Well, this week is no exception. I am seriously in need of some rest!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 47.5kg x 2 (x 8 set)
  • Dumbbell flyes:
    • 15lb x 12 (x 4 sets)

There should’ve been dips and a band pulldown / seated band row superset, but I was fucked. I just needed my PJs and the sofa 😦

Saturday 13 September

Weight update: 62kg. Better. Now to maintain this for the rest of the week.

I had about 11 hours’ sleep last night but I woke up feeling I hadn’t slept for a week. Today was my last “heavy” training session before the competition and I had to make up for yesterday’s crying-off.

I felt so shit, that I took two scoops of pre-workout. I try not to take it too often, but when I do, I usually only take one scoop. It had the desired effect: I got through the squats. I couldn’t face the snatch-grip high pulls or the stuff I cut from yesterday, so I dropped them. The last thing I want to do is injure myself with accessory exercises because I’m knackered and my form’s sloppy. All my energy went in to making sure those squats were done well. And that was exhausting!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 30kg x 4 (x 6 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 5
    • 72.5kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Bodyweight squats with band around my knees:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)

That’s it. All the really hard work I had to do before the comp has been done. There’s nothing else I can do now except rest and recharge. Oh and hope to fuck that I’ve done enough to get my desired total!

Either way, it’s only one week until I can have this:

Byron-Smoky

Leave a Reply

