Where my ego takes a punch to the chin…

This week was my first week back training after the British Classic, and I thought having had a week of R&R and eating everything in sight, I would be on good form and ready to attack my off-season cycle with gusto.

Alas, this week actually saw my ego (and confidence) take a bit of a thrashing. While Monday and Tuesday hurt (and continued to hurt well into the latter part of the week), Thursday and Friday were fucking awful. After a number of talking tos and verbal slaps, I’ve accepted a number of things:

  1. I have got to reduce the weight I’m working with so I can iron out all the problems with my technique.
  2. A week probably isn’t enough to get over maxing out, so I shouldn’t expect to be in top form!
  3. I need to eat more! Despite saying I don’t mind going up to the 72kg class, I’m still uncomfortable about actually putting on weight. I’m an idiot.

Anyway, here’s week one of my off-season, complete with pictures of all the junk food I’ve eaten…

Monday 29 September

I was really looking forward to getting back in the gym today. A week has seemed like a hell of a long time…

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Box squats:
    • 60kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Romanian deadlifts:
    • 40kg x 8
    • 50kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Pendlay rows / low band row:
    • 40kg x 12 (x 4 sets) / blue band x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Clams (with band):
    • 12 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 30 September

Holy fucking DOMS Batman! Sitting, standing, walking…EVERYTHING hurt!

I’ve decided to take up a new creative hobby, seeing as though knitting and sewing have kind of been forgotten. As a bit of Japanophile, I thought I’d crack open the pencil tin and learn how to draw kawaii characters. I might even start illustrating this blog with my masterpieces 😉 Lucky you!!

IMG_20140930_081040

Expect to see kawaii characters all over this blog once I’ve practised enough!!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 37.5kg x 5
    • 42.5kg x 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 25lb x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pressdowns / band kickbacks – 2 second pause at lockout:
    • red band x 12 (x 4 sets) / yellow band x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Shrugs:
    • 45lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 1 October

I’ve started new hours at work this week, and the earlier starts hit me a bit today. Thankfully, Wednesday training is fairly short. Sadly, it involved planks…

  • Seated shoulder press:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Front raise / lat raise:
    • 2.5kg x 20 (x 2 sets) / 2.5kg x 20 (x 2 sets)
  • Plank:
    • I should’ve done three 1 minute planks, but I can’t hold them that long as they really hurt my shoulders 😦
  • Side planks:
    • I should’ve done two 1 minute planks per side, but, as with normal planks, I can’t hold them that long because of my shoulders. I’m lame 😦

Thursday 2 October

I couldn’t wait for my first deadlift session back as I fucking love deadlifts. But sadly, it didn’t go well and I had a bit of a tantrum like a 6-year-old. Pause squats went well though, but I didn’t care. 80kg deadlifts felt heavier than they should’ve; 100kg felt more like 120kg; and I could hardly move 115kg. And this is from mid-shin level and not from the floor!!! I was fucking gutted.

So what did I do? I made a bit of a tit of myself by complaining and moaning about how shit I am to Matt and one of my training friends. They gave me a bit of a talking to – Matt pointed out that maxing out and really pushing myself like I’d done was going to wipe me out – but still I was down in the dumps and hated myself for contracting post-competition inability-to-deadlift syndrome…again!!

  • Pause squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 20kg x 8
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 3
    • 60kg x 2
    • 65kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Partial deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 80kg x 5
    • 100kg x 5
    • 115kg x 1; 110kg x 1; 100kg x 3
    • 100kg x 5
  • Side lunges:
    • 10kg x 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Narrow grip pulldowns:
    • #6 x 12, 10
    • #7 x 8, 6
    • #8 x 4
  • Face pulls:
    • #1 x 20 (x 5 sets)

On the way home from the gym, I picked up some sponge cakes for a little celebration at work tomorrow…

IMG_20141002_215441

Old-school cake stash

Friday 3 October

I woke up feeling stiff and sore. Fair enough considering the poor form I’d shown yesterday. This did help me realise that I’d been stupid during deadlifts, and I needed to let my ego go. I didn’t even realise I was that much of a slave to my ego. Guess that’s the coffee well and truly smelt…

I’ve been working on a massive project at work which has finally gone through pilot testing. The feedback we’ve received has been amazing, so my boss gave me a unicorn and some Hello Kitty sweets to say well done!

IMG_20141003_103538

My boss knows me so well!

My colleagues had helped out a great deal, so to say thanks to them I arranged for cake and custard to celebrate.

IMG_20141003_114747

Cake and custard!!!

As if I hadn’t had enough sugar today, I was craving some chocolate hobnobs and bought some on my way home. In the ten minutes between the shop and my flat, I’d eaten half the packet. Fuel for bench press, right?

    • Bench press (against red bands):
      • 20kg x 10 (no band)
      • 20kg x 5
      • 30kg x 5
      • 40kg x 2 (x 2 sets)
      • 42.5kg x 2
      • 40kg x 2 (x 2 sets)
    • Floor press:
      • 20kg x 8
      • 30kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
    • Skull crushers (using cable):
      • 25kg x 12, 10, 8, 6, 4
    • Rear delt flye:
      • 4kg x 20kg (x 4 sets)
    •  Clams:
      • 12 (x 4 sets)

More like fuel for mediocrity and for feeling bad about yourself. Again, Matt and Sam gave me the talking to I needed (I’m so sorry guys. I seriously owe you one!!) and I settled down for the evening with the other half of the packet (apart from 2), dunked in the custard cream spread I had lying around.

IMG_20141003_215320

Erm, carb-loading for early morning squats tomorrow…

Saturday 4 October

I had to get up pretty early this morning so I could squat before I headed down to Portsmouth to see my friend. I had some breakfast, half an hour later took some pre-workout, and then, at 8.30am, started to lift. It went pretty well, although the last couple of reps weren’t as good as I would’ve liked. My hips didn’t move faster than the bar or anything and my knees stayed out, but after a strong start out of the hole, I got a little bit stuck as I came back through parallel. Bugger.

      • Military press (against purple band):
        • 20kg x 5 (no band)
        • 20kg x 4
        • 25kg x 5 (x 4 sets; no band)
      • Squats:
        • 20kg x 10
        • 40kg x 5
        • 60kg x 5
        • 70kg x 5
        • 75kg x 5 – last two were a bit dodgy 😦
      • Bodyweight squats (with bands around knees):
        • blue band x 8 (x 4 sets)

I had promised myself I wouldn’t spend any money at the craft shops we were going to, but sadly there was unicorn fabric and gorgeous pink yarn that I couldn’t resist. There was also massive slabs of cake. No restraint. No discipline. But, man, it was fucking good!! 😉

IMG_20141004_223214

Gluttony and greed!

And yes, I needed more sugar, etc. So the last 2 hobnobs were sandwiched together with custard cream spread. Messy!!!

IMAG2125_1

As requested, a sandwich version of the chocolate hobnob / custard cream spread combo

What’s the plan for next week? Eat more, lift less and sleep. It’s the off-season for fuck’s sake!

Leave a Reply

