Where I break my promise…and remain boring as hell!

I promised a more exciting post this week, but guess what, I think I’m gong to fail!! I should just accept it, I’m not very interesting…

Ah well. Here’s my usual mix of training rundown and food pics, with added knitwear.

Monday 13 October

Well, the week started off positively! I felt rested and was looking forward to training. I managed to convince myself I’d torn my ACL though, which is really fucking ridiculous! I need a slap! I know people who’ve torn their ACL! I would NOT be able to squat!! Idiot!!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 5
    • 75kg x 5
    • 77.5kg x 5
  • Box squats:
    • 65kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Romanian deadlifts:
    • 40kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • V-bar pulldowns:
    • #6 (about 80lb) x 12, 10
    • #7 (about 90lb) x 8, 6
    • #8 (about 100lb) x 4
  • Clams with band around knees:
    • 12 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 14 October

Tuesday wasn’t too bad, not as positive as Monday, but nowhere near as bad as later in the week. I was quite looking forward to benching. I never thought I’d be a bench press lover…

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 12
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 45kg x 2
    • 50kg x 2
    • 55kg x 2
  • Floor press:
    • 40kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Band triceps extensions / band kickbacks:
    • red / purple x 12 / 12 (x 2 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 50lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 15 October

A colleague of mine is leaving this week. As I won’t be going to his leaving drinks, I thought I’d bake some Nutella and Ferrero Rocher cupcakes.

My photography skills (and shit phone camera) really haven’t done them justice, but they were fucking amazing!

cake collage

The recipe, and much better photos, can be found on the scarletscorchdroppers blog.

I took a rest day because I went to visit Jairo to get Totoro’s patchy bits recoloured. Although there’s wasn’t much to do, my arm was quite sore and I didn’t get back until late.

IMG_20140405_191211

Just using an old photo…

Thursday 16 October

I did feel a bit bad about not going to my colleague’s leaving drinks, despite baking him the best cupcakes ever! But, as a teetotaller, watching my colleagues get more drunk as I nurse a Diet Coke really isn’t that much fun. Plus, I really hate pubs. Luckily, he understands how important deadlifts are to me!!

  • Pause squats:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Partial deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 8
    • 80kg x 5
    • 90kg x 3
    • 100kg x 3 (x 3 sets)
  • Power cleans:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 40kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • GHR:
    • 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverse band rows / low band rows:
    • blue / blue x 12 / 8 (x 4 sets)

Tara and I headed to the Urban Diner in Putney for some post-deadlift burger action! Yes!!

IMG_20141016_210347

The Porky: pulled pork and burger with pickles, tomato and lettuce in a brioche bun. Divine!

Friday 17 October

Last night, I had the worst night’s sleep known to Man. I think it worked out at about 3 hours of good sleep, punctuated by waking up in agony as some joint or another ached.

When I’m as tired as I am today, I crave sweet things more than I usually do. Today, in order to get through work, I stuffed my face with 4 shots of coffee, a pain au chocolat, green tea, a builders’ brew, 6 dark chocolate digestives and half a Crunchie (plus my proper food – porridge and pasta bolognese). I can’t remember exactly what I ate once I got home, but I’m pretty certain chocolate featured in 90% of it!!

I placed my first order with Protein Pick and Mix this week and it arrived today. None of these featured in my binge.

IMG_20141017_175235

 

Needless to say, training was fucking nasty. While I managed the planned weight with pretty good form, it felt significantly heavier than it usually does.

  • Bench press against bands:
    • 20kg x 10 (no band)
    • 20kg x 5
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 42.5kg x 3 (x 5 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 25lb x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Skullcrushers (again band):
    • red x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Face pulls (with 2 second pause):
    • 25kg x 15 (5 sets)

Saturday 18 October

I had to get up fairly early to squat as I was off out with some friends. I really don’t like training early, especially when I don’t have time to eat a proper breakfast beforehand. This session was fuelled by pre-workout and a protein shake. Not enough, especially considering I still wasn’t on top form after yesterday. Which was probably why 67.5kg was horrendously heavy!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 10 (x 3 sets)
  • Snatch grip high pulls:
    • 30kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 67.5kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Bodyweight squats with band round knees:
    • blue x 8 (x 4 sets)

One of my other interests, as you may know, is knitting. I caught up with a few of my knitting friends and went to the Knitwear: Chanel to Westwood exhibition at the Fashion and Textile Museum in Bermondsey. There were some rather, erm, interesting examples, but there were some bloody beautiful ones too.

You get a free cuppa at the cafe next door, and I think we actually spent more time in the cafe than in the exhibition (it was very small). Bermondsey isn’t that far from Tower Hill, so I suggested a bit of a meat-fest at Bodean’s. Getting there was hell: the Tower of London has a breath-taking poppy installation at the moment, which makes getting across Tower Bridge pretty exhausting. I didn’t see the whole installation, but it was beautiful.

At the other side of the bridge, I sat down and ate more than half of this platter. Dessert awaited us after a short walk to Waterloo Bridge. Happy, happy tummy!!

bodean's collage

And that’s it. I won’t promise a more interesting post next week because, let’s face it, it’s going to happen! Thanks for being lovely and sticking with me!! Until next week!

Leave a Reply

