More food. More squats. And more deadlift meltdowns…

Week 4 of my off-season mesocycle, and I’m definitely looking forward to deload (week 6). You never know, I might have the energy to tidy up my flat! My diet has totally gone off the rails and I’ve gained 5kg in 5 weeks! As Matt would say, “Gainz”. Luckily, I still just about fit in my clothes, but I think the trip to mum’s next week might be an excuse for a bit of shopping. Ah well, shit happens 😉

Monday 20 October

Squats are currently my favourites. Which is good, as I want 100kg NOW – but really that’s going to require a fuck load of work!! Today’s heavy sets felt good though, so hopefully I’ll be on my way past 90kg soon.

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 8 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 2
    • 77.5kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Pause squats:
    • 50kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • GHR:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverse band row / seated band row:
    • blue / blue x 12 / 8 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 21 October

I never thought bench press would be so enjoyable. I actually really like Tuesdays!! I’m really hoping for 60kg by Christmas. That might be a bit ambitious though. 😦

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 52.5kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 25lb x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pressdowns / band kickbacks:
    • blue / purple x 12 /12 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 50lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

I decided it was time to start doing some cardio again. It’s been weeks. So many weeks! I thought I’d start off small…

Spin bike “Tabata” intervals: 20 seconds of all out pedalling followed by 10 seconds of “rest” done eight times. This 4 minute cardio session really fucking hurt. My cardio fitness has pretty much disappeared. Bollocks. Oh well…

Wednesday 22 October

I wish planks would fuck off and die. I hate them. They hurt my shoulders and they’re fucking boring. 20 reps of front and lat raises can also do one!!

  • Seated shoulder press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 22.5kg x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Front raises / lat raises:
    • 2.5kg / 2.5kg x 20 / 20 (x 2 sets
  • Plank:
    • 45 seconds
    • 30 seconds
  • Side planks:
    • 30 seconds
    • 30 seconds

Spin bike “Tabata”, again. I’ve forgotten how much sitting on a bike hurts…

Thursday 23 October

I am seriously having a crisis of confidence with my deadlifts. While I appreciate I’m doing them after squats, so I’m slightly fatigued, I just don’t seem able to lift with any semblance of good form. It’s so fucking frustrating. At least squats are going well…

  • Rack squats:
    • 20kg x 5, 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 5
  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 3
    • 100kg x 3 (x 2 sets)
    • 95kg x 3
  • Side lunges:
    • 10kg x 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Narrow grip lat pulldowns:
    • #6 x 12, 10
    • #7 x 8, 6
    • #8 x 4
  • Face pulls:
    • 25kg x 20 (x 5 sets)

Once this torture was over, we heading for dinner. In return for these (yes, I’m using the same photo as last week)…

IMG_20141014_211131

 

…Tara made me dinner. It doesn’t look like anything special – and Tara will kill me for posting such an unflattering picture of her creation – but it was fucking amazing!

IMAG2198

 

After another shit deadlift session, the giggles and gluttony (there were peanut butter Oreos too!!) were just what I needed.

Friday 24 October

I’ve been working slightly compressed hours so I get every fourth Friday off work. Today was the first of these Fridays, and sleeping in this morning was bliss. It’s unusual for me to sleep past 8.30am, but I clearly needed an extra two hours this morning! 🙂

It meant I could bench during the day too.

  • Bench press (with bands):
    • 20kg x 10 (no band)
    • 20kg x 5
    • 30kg x 5
    • 40kg x 5
    • 45kg x 5
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 30lb x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Floor press:
    • 45kg x 4 – erm…too heavy!!
    • 42.5kg x 4 (x 4 sets)
  • Rear delt fly:
    • 4kg x 20 (x 4 sets)
  • Clams:
    • 12 (x 4 sets)

I’d managed to keep the sugar cravings under control, until The Boyfriend went to work… My god, I love Ben & Jerry’s peanut butter cup ice cream.

Saturday 25 October

Even though I’m not really concerned with gaining weight, I’m still monitoring it weekly. What I don’t want is to put on weight too quickly… Which is what I am doing!! I was 66.2kg this morning. I don’t think I’ve ever been this heavy! Haha. I had given up tracking my food on MyFitnessPal, but decided to start again for accountability purposes. I know I’ve been eating way too much cake/chocolate/biscuits/shit, but seeing it in black and white might help me calm the fuck down!

That said, it didn’t stop me from tucking into this:

IMG_20141025_215037

Oh and half a bar of Dairy Milk with Daim… #gains

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 25kg x 5
    • 30kg x 5
    • 32.5kg x ??
  • Snatch grip high pulls:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 40kg x 3
    • 50kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x8
    • 40kg x5
    • 60kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Bodyweight squats with bands:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Tabata-style intervals (20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest x 8; 1 minute rest; x4)
    • Round 1:
      • two-arm kettlebell swings @ 20kg: 12, 12, 12, 12
      • goblet squat @ 12kg: 10, 10, 10, 10
    • Round 2:
      • one-arm kettlebell clean and press @ 12kg: 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6
    • Round 3:
      • two-arm kettlebell swings @ 20kg: 12, 12, 12, 8
      • goblet lunge: 5, 5, 5, 5
    • Round 4:
      • one-arm kettlebell snatch @ 7.5kg: 10, 1o, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

There we are, another week of eating and lifting done. Next week: more of the same, plus a visit to the mothership. There will, no doubt, be cake. What’s new?

One comment

  1. […] that if I was at the gym anyway, I might as well do something productive. I did Em’s 20 minute tabata workout and instantly regretted it. To be fair, it flew by a lot quicker than 20 minutes of actual cardio […]

Leave a Reply

