“Ouch! That fucking hurt!” and training at the Weights Room, Dover (with a bit of a gym review)

This week, I hurt myself whilst doing cardio, and popped down to Dover to visit family. They’re the highlights. You don’t need to read any more 😉

Monday 27 October

I was so fucking excited about this workout: max double squat. I’ve been feeling really good about squats lately, and just knew I was on for a rep PB. I decided to go straight from 80kg to 90kg because it seemed, not easy, just not particularly tough. And I got my two!! That was the rep PB I wanted. It went so well, I decided to try 92.5kg. I got one rep. The depth was difficult to judge properly from the video I took, but I think it was at least parallel. Something to build on, for sure!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 2
    • 80kg x 2
    • 90kg x 2
    • 92.5kg x 1 – I got a bit cocky…
  • Box squats:
    • 50kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Romanian Deadlifts:
    • 40kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverted row:
    • 12
    • 10
    • 10
    • 8
  • Seal row:
    • 7.5kg x 8 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 28 October

I felt like I was coming down with something all day, and really just wanted to go to bed. But I actually felt better once I started lifting. I’ve got a feeling it might be the office that’s making me feel a bit pants: it’s so hot in there, I usually end up with a headache!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 35kg x 5
    • 45kg x 3
    • 52.5kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Dumbbell bench press:
    • 30lb x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 5 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pressdowns / band kickbacks:
    • blue / purple x 12 / 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 50lb x 5 (x 5 sets)

Wednesday 29 October

I got home today to find out £120 worth of gym clothes had been stolen from the communal area outside my flat. I was absolutely livid. This, on top of feeling shit, made the idea of training seem totally unattractive. But I knew that I’d feel better channelling that anger and aggression into lifting, so I forced myself into the gym room at home.

  • Seated dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 20lb x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Klokov press:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Band front raises:
    • red x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Clams:
    • 6 (x 5 sets)

I decided to do a bit of cardio as the weight training didn’t hurt enough. I was not expecting the cardio to hurt quite as much as it did…

The little circuit consisted of 10 box jumps (17-19″) followed by 10 kettlebell swings (20kg) x 10, on the minute. However, on the very last box jump of the second round, this happened:

Left: my leg just after I ripped it open. Right: four days later...

Left: my leg just after I ripped it open. Right: four days later…

Stupidly, I carried on once I’d stopped swearing (and lowered the box). I couldn’t do the circuit on the minute every round because I was so out of breath, but I did do all ten rounds. Yes, I am an idiot.

Thursday 30 October

I woke up this morning and the gaping wound was stinging like a motherfucker! Luckily, it didn’t hurt to squat (although I later found out that putting on my knee sleeves was going to be sheer fucking agony!) and it was rack pulls rather than full deadlifts, so I could set the pins at a height that would let me avoid scraping my damaged shin again.

Pause squats went well. Matt pointed out that my squats on Monday were a bit bent over, so gave me some tips on staying more upright. I put them into practice this evening, and my squat looked much prettier!

  • Pause squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 2
    • 75kg x 2
    • 80kg x 2
  • Rack pulls:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 80kg x 3
    • 90kg x 2
    • 100kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Side lunges:
    • 15kg x 10 (x 3sets)
  • Inverse band rows / low band rows:
    • blue / blue x 12 /8 (x 4 sets)

Tara and I headed to Nando’s after to try out their new sweet potato wedges. I’m not usually a dip kind of person, but that yoghurt and coriander dip was fucking amazing! These come highly recommended!!

nandos

Friday 31 October

I travelled from London to Dover (my hometown) after work to visit my mum. I was only going to be there for about 24 hours, but I needed to fit in two gym session. As soon as I arrived, I headed to the Weights Room. I used to belong to this gym before I moved to London about 7.5 years ago. It has since moved to larger premises, but I knew it would be the best place for me to train the way I needed to.

I wasn’t expecting Fitness First-style decor or brand new, clean equipment, but I couldn’t believe how messy the place was. Nobody seemed to put their weights away, despite a massive sign saying anyone who didn’t would be asked to leave. I spent a lot of my time wandering around looking for weight plates, particularly the smaller ones. I can’t claim to be a neat freak or anything, but this place upset me!! I mean, look:

gym-collage

 

I had to go for a max double on my bench press, and I knew my mum wouldn’t be able to help, so I asked one of the guys nearby to give me a spot as I went for 57.5kg for two. I got it pretty easily, so decided to go for 60kg. I felt like I had more in me!!

I’d given this bloke strict instructions NOT to touch the bar AT ALL unless I expressly asked him to rescue me. I set myself up. 60kg felt comfortable in my hands. I lowered it. It still felt OK. I pressed and IT MOVED FROM MY CHEST!! Mid way I got stuck and was preparing to fight through it when my spotter nudged it to help me through. It was only a momentary touch, and he claims not to have lifted it, but now that gym PB doesn’t count! I chose not to go for a second rep because my confidence had been shattered.

While I’m grateful to that bloke for spotting me during his rest periods, I am so angry that all the psyching myself up and effort was wasted because he helped the bar along a bit. I was so annoyed and a bit upset.

I can’t say I usually sweat much on bench day, but it was so hot in there that I finished my workout 10kg lighter through sweating (clearly this is an exaggeration, but you get my drift!). I also couldn’t write properly because my triceps were shot. Good job I haven’t got military press on Saturday morning then…oh wait!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 35kg x 5
    • 45kg x 3
    • 52.5kg x 2
    • 57.5kg x 2
    • 60kg x 1
  • Parallel bar dips:
    • 12
    • 10
    • 8
    • 6
    • 4
  • Dumbbell flyes:
    • 8kg x 12 (x 2 sets)
    • 7kg x 12 (x 2 sets)
  • Pushdowns / kickbacks:
    • 30kg / 3kg x 12 /12
    • 35kg / 4kg x 12 / 12 (x 2 sets)
    • 35kg / 3kg x 12 /12

Saturday 1 November

I was up at 7am so I could have breakfast and get to the Weights Room again as soon as it opened at 8am. It started to get busy as I got to the end of my pressing, so decided to stay in the power rack and do squats before high pulls.

Thankfully, someone had had a bit of a tidy up last night, so there weren’t weights all over the floor, but smaller plates were still bloody difficult to find!!

There also wasn’t any proper lighting in the kettlebell area, so I had to position myself right at the edge of the nook to benefit from as much light from the main gym as possible. I think the kettlebell Tabata hurt even more this time round! And it was so fucking hot in there! I left the place looking like a drowned rat!

  • Military press:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 25kg x 5
    • 30kg x 4 (x 3 sets)
    • 30kg x 3
    • 27.5kg x 4 (x 2 sets)
  • Snatch grip high pulls:
    • 20kg x 6
    • 40kg x 3 (x 5 sets)
  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 77.5kg x 2 (x 5 sets)
  • Tabata-style intervals (20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest x 8; 1 minute rest; x4)
    • Round 1:
      • two-arm kettlebell swings @ 20kg: 12, 12, 12, 12
      • goblet squat @ 12kg: 10, 10, 10, 10
    • Round 2:
      • one-arm kettlebell clean and press @ 12kg: 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6
    • Round 3:
      • two-arm kettlebell swings @ 20kg: 12, 12, 12, 8
      • goblet lunge: 5, 5, 5, 5
    • Round 4:
      • one-arm kettlebell snatch @ 7.5kg: 10, 1o, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Whilst wandering around, I noticed some Strongman equipment out the back. It turns out I could’ve used it!! Next time I’m down, I am definitely flipping that tyre!!

strongman-collage

The Weights Room is no frills, and for £4 a visit, you can’t expect it to be. But the atmosphere was OK and I didn’t feel uncomfortable. It had everything I needed, except powerlifting bands, so next time I’ll make sure I take mine with me. The “new” premises work well. Sadly, it’s also a CrossFit “box”, but I won’t go there…

I was then dragged round all the shops Westwood Cross in Thanet. This also included a bland meal at the Toby Carvery, where I had to ask for more meat. I can’t believe how many Yorkshire puddings some people had on their plates!!

toby

 

I didn’t eat proper food again until the train home…

Not exactly a sexy collage...

Not exactly a sexy collage…

That steak burrito had enough flavour to make up for the lack of it at lunch time!!

Deload week next week, so I’ll be back with the training log in two weeks’ time. Speak then!!

 

4 comments

  1. Next time you’re down, drop me a line if you like. I’m only down the road. I train at hi rep. He actually has some strongman stuff there (and it’s a PL gym). Or there’s a strongman gym in New Romney somewhere I think? I know how to spot! 😉

    1. Awesome! Thanks Nicola! I will. 🙂

      1. Look forwrd to it! And we can EAT too – you been to Googies or Big Burger Boys in F’stone?

      2. Oooh! Yes, let’s do it!! I haven’t been to either! I’m definitely up for eating though! Yay! I’ll let you know when I’m coming down again 🙂 Thanks lovely xx

Leave a Reply

