Paintballing sucks.

Oops. I appear to be a day late with my blog, and as usual, I have nothing to say.

Sunday 16 November

Again, work has got in the way of my training schedule, so I had to lift today rather than on Wednesday. I still don’t like lifting on Sundays!!!

  • Bench press:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 35kg x 5
    • 45kg x 3 (x 8 sets)
  • One-arm incline dumbbell bench press:
    • 20lb x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Triceps extension:
    • red band x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pushdowns:
    • blue band x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs – paused:
    • 40lb x 10 (x 4 sets)

I then went shopping to try and find clothes to house my new bulked-up (lol) body. It was unsuccessful and pretty depressing. Meh.

Monday 17 November

This week, another colleague is leaving. The organisation I work for is small, so promotions are highly unlikely, but there does seem to be a bit of an exodus at the moment. I don’t really understand why: it’s such a lovely place to work!

Anyway, that meant I had to make another cake. What a fucking shame!! So, this week, it was Daim Bar cake!

The original recipe was in Polish, so I had to rely on Google Translate, which was a bit worrying. The original recipe can be found on the Kuchenne Czary Mary blog.

Daim Bar Cake

Ingredients:

  • 3 Daim bars
  • 100g milk chocolate – I used 120g Cadbury’s Dairy Milk with Daim, for added Daim-y yumminess
  • 50g butter
  • 200g ground almond
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 120g icing sugar – I was concerned about this! I’ve never used icing sugar IN a cake before. But, according to my Polish colleague, this is right!!
  • 1 drop of vanilla flavour – I used a teaspoon of vanilla extract

Topping:

  • 100g milk chocolate – again, I used 120g Cadbury’s Dairy Milk with Daim
  • 2 Daim bars

Method:

  1. Chop the Daim Bars. Melt the milk chocolate in a bowl over a saucepan of boiling water. Add the butter and chopped Daim. Heat over the boiling for a while, stir and take off the heat.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients together (ground almonds, cocoa, baking powder and salt).
    Beat the eggs and sugar. Add the vanilla extract. Add the melted chocolate to the beaten eggs and sugar. Add the dry ingredients in batches and mix thoroughly.
  3. Line a 16cm cake tin with baking paper and grease. Pour the cake mixture into it.
  4. Bake for about 50 minutes at 180ºC.
  5. Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely.
  6. Topping: chop the Daim bars. Melt chocolate in a bowl over boiling water. Pour the melted chocolate over the cake and the sprinkle with the Daim bars.
IMG_20141115_205621

Ta-dah!

 

Today’s training session was quite painful, not because of what I was having to lift, but because Tara had been as sick as a dog for a few days and spent the whole session moaning. I told her not to go to the gym, but there’s no telling her! 😉

My lifting went well though. I really do love Oly-style squats!

  • Squats:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 2 sets)
    • 40kg x 5
    • 65kg x 5 (x 5 sets)
  • Paused Oly-style squats:
    • 60kg x 3
    • 70kg x 3 (x 6 sets)
  • Stiff-legged deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 8
  • GHR:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Inverted row:
    • 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Seal rows:
    • 10kg x 8 (x 4 sets)

Tuesday 18 November

Other than work, nothing actually happened today. Here’s training:

  • Incline bench:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 8
    • 32.5kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Dips:
    • 12, 10, 8, 6, 4
  • Close grip bench press – paused:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 30kg x 6
    • 35kg x 6 (x 4 sets)
  • Band pushdowns / dumbell kickbacks:
    • blue band / 4kg x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Pull ups – 50 reps in as many sets as necessary:
    • blue band assisted x 10, 9, 10, 8, 8, 5

Thursday 20 November

Tonight was Tara’s max deadlift night, which was probably too soon after being ill. Sadly, she didn’t get a new PB, so I had to be the bad cop and enforce the “If I Fail I Can’t Have Burgers” rule. I was not popular 😉

It was good doing proper deadlifts again. I love deadlifts, but it really is a mind fuck. I honestly don’t know if I’d be able to move 130kg from the floor, let alone lock it out, at the moment. Gah!

  • Front squats:
    • 20kg 10
    • 40kg x 8
    • 50kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 5
    • 70kg x 5
    • 80kg x 5
    • 90kg x 5
    • 100kg x 5
    • 105kg x 5 – probably shouldn’t have done this set. The first four reps were OK, but the fifth was dodgy 😦
  • Trap-bar deadlifts:
    • 60kg x 10 (x 5 sets)
  • GHR:
    • 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Bent-over band rows / seated band rows:
    • 12 / 8 (x 4 sets)

Friday 21 November

I had the day off work, so did this during the day. I wasn’t entirely sure if the “heavy” sets were going to happen. I just saw myself stuck under the bar. I did it all, though, without getting stuck! Yay!

  • Bench press against bands:
    • 20kg (no band) x 10
    • 20kg x 8
    • 30kg x 8
    • 37.5kg x 8 (x 4 sets)
  • Klokov press:
    • 20kg x 10 (x 5)
  • One-arm dumbbell shoulder press:
    • 20lb x 10 (x 4 sets)
  • Dumbbell shrugs:
    • 45lb x 8 (x 4 sets)

This evening, The Boyfriend and I went out for lobster. The gluttony was worth it!!

IMG_20141121_214524

 

IMAG2280

Saturday 22 November

I went to train with Tara again today so I could shout at her as she tested her max squat. I had to do a fuck load of Oly-squats, and yep! I still love them!

  • Oly-style squats:
    • 20kg x 10
    • 40kg x 5
    • 60kg x 3
    • 75kg x 3 (x 8 sets)
  • Good mornings:
    • 20kg x 8
    • 50kg x 5 (x 3 sets)
  • Barbell step ups:
    • 32kg x 8 (x 3 sets)
  • Leg extensions – paused:
    • 80lb x 12 (x 4 sets)
  • Snatch grip high pulls:
    • 20kg x 5
    • 50kg x 5 (x 5 sets)

Tara left me after good mornings. I got everything set up for barbell step ups, got the bar over my head and onto my shoulders and started my first set. As I finished the second leg, I realised there was no way I was going to be able to get the weight off my shoulders, so I had to do the 3 sets back-to-back and then ask someone to take the bar off my shoulders. What a fucking idiot!!

Sunday 23 November

Today’s a rest day, but I went paintballing with Tara. It was a fucking glorious day – it pissed it down constantly and I was soaked to the bone. In the second round of the first game of Capture the Flag, I got a bit brave and made a mad dash for the flag. I should’ve stayed hidden, because I got shot in the throat:

IMG_20141123_153047

which really fucking hurt! We left after the next game, because we were all miserable and my throat was swelling up. Tara bought me a gingerbread muffin and an orange hot chocolate to cheer me up on the way home. 🙂 It went a little way to making me feel less wretched!

IMG_20141123_161639So that’s it.

Next week, I train as usual – although I’m going to Birmingham on Thursday to train with Matt – but I also need to sort out my diet. Things have gone a bit awry recently and I’ve been living on sweet junk rather than proper food. While I’m not cutting out the junk completely, I have got to eat less of it. Next week is not going to be fun as I go through the DTs!

I did make a start on it last night:

IMG_20141123_194619

Swordfish with Puy lentils and mango salsa

However, I did follow this with Terry’s chocolate orange and biscuits. Ah well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

